Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by mwmorph, Jan 15, 2006.

  1. mwmorph

    mwmorph Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    jsut got the game and when i play it, the frapgics glitch, it;s not artifacting but while I walk, the textures will switch to different colors and patterns along the same wall. lighting is also off and when i turn on my light aug, the surface that is lighted will completely switch textures. odd really. all settings/resolutions highest.

    9800xt
    cat 5.13
    amd64 3300+(2.4ghz, 256kb cache, cut down newcastle)
    1gb ram
     
  2. sandorski

    sandorski No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    61,270
    Likes Received:
    36
    Have the Game Patched to latest version?
     
  3. HamburgerBoy

    HamburgerBoy Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    25,313
    Likes Received:
    24
    Can you take pictures of the changes in patterns?
     
  4. BFG10K

    BFG10K Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    20,911
    Likes Received:
    8
    Patch the game and run it under OpenGL.
     
  5. mwmorph

    mwmorph Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    here. sorry it's image shack but my bbzzdd account is full

    arch
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/2585/deusex1archway0zt.jpg
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/2775/deusex2archway6oj.jpg

    floor
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/5963/deusex1floor9dg.jpg
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/752/deusex2floor3tz.jpg

    ceiling/pipe
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/8356/deusex1ceilingandpipe7vu.jpg
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/763/deusex2ceilingandpipe2fv.jpg

    wall
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/719/deusex1wall2st.jpg
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/4964/deusex2wall9ja.jpg

    ramp
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/1699/deusex1ramp1gr.jpg
    http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/1839/deusex2ramp1kd.jpg


    tell you the truth this is incredibly annyong. think of this happeneing all the time and it;s constantly shifting when you move. It happens most during the training level but sometimes, but less often happens in missions. settings are as high as i can set them. can anyone take a screen shot of what it should look like?
     
  6. Frodolives

    Frodolives Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to verify, as has been asked, did you apply the patch?

    Looking at those screens, my first instinct had it been my system was to make sure my card wasn't too hot or that a fan had failed. Probably not the case for you, but just making sure.

    I may have some troubleshooting references around here that I can look up if you don't find a solution soon.
     
  7. mwmorph

    mwmorph Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,883
    Likes Received:
    0

    nope no artifacts in any other game like bf2 or need for speed most wanted.

    waht patch? i installed the GOTY version, does that have the latest patch?
     
  8. sandorski

    sandorski No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    61,270
    Likes Received:
    36
    Patch the game, but you may want to back off the High settings as an experiment. It's very possible that the High settings turn on some funky thingy that's no longer supported in DirectX or Vidcards(perhaps ATI cards specifically). It wouldn't surprise me at all if the High settings use a feature specific to 3DFX cards that no other card supported, since 3DFX was THE card to use(for Deus Ex) when Deus Ex came out.
     
  9. Frodolives

    Frodolives Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh. Having the GOTY edition I don't think you require a patch. I recently installed a GOTY edition on an XP pc without problems just to check out the pc.

    I can't find any saved info on the subject so I'm having a look here: http://forums.eidosgames.com/archive/index.php/f-28.html

    Yes, so far I see verified that you shouldn't require patch, but I've already seen reference that you'd need this one if you have an audigy soundcard. EDIT: Darn, looks like that link is dead for the creative patch.

    Maybe you'll find something useful on that board, but I'll follow your thread here in case you have some more feedback.
     
  10. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just installed GOTY edition also.
    It has the latest patches.

    All i can say is its not that the games advanced features only supports 3DFX as mentioned it "might" be above.

    Im running it on a 7800GT with evrything maxed with no glitches at all in D3D or OpenGL.

    So i'm assuming its a Radeon/driver thing, but not sure.

    1st thing i'd do is make sure AA and Aniso settings are disabled or set to "application controlled" in the ATI control panel, make sure desktop is in 32bit color and have the latest Cat drivers. (which you most likely tried all that)

    Did a search of the Eidos forum for ya without much luck.
    Theres alot of post on the Eidos forum about graphic glitches though, and i didnt read them all, so the answer is probably there and i just missed it.
    (most of the posts were about Nvidia cards and graphic glitches which were resolved with updating drivers)
     
  11. Schadenfroh

    Schadenfroh Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    38,418
    Likes Received:
    1
    That game looked great on my voodoo5 5500 in GLIDE.
     
  12. sandorski

    sandorski No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    61,270
    Likes Received:
    36
    on mine too. everything(then) looked great on it.
     
  13. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Any high rez texture packs for this game?
    Located a few unfinished projects, but nothing i could install yet.

    Would rather have high rez textures before i play the whole game again for about the tenth time...LOL
     
  14. Frodolives

    Frodolives Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out this project for high def mod for Deus Ex. At least that's the only one I'm aware of.
     
  15. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    yep, thats the one i've been looking at. ;)
    Hope its done soon.

    Seems a shame that there is a high rez texture pack available for Invisible War and not the original Deus Ex.

    IMO the original is a far superior game.
     
  16. BFG10K

    BFG10K Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    20,911
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes. Now are you running under OpenGL?
     
  17. mwmorph

    mwmorph Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    D3D which looks a lot worse than Half Life 1 which was released earlier. The charter textures look like garbage, I can barely make out a face.

    There was a option for software and a option for D3D(when I first start the game and it rn the tests) no OGL for my card for some reason.(9800xt) I've installed nothing, no packs, nothing just a full install of the game.

    I;m runnig ati tray tools.

    AA is app control
    Ansio is app controled
    Truform is on
    Texture preference is Quality
    MipMap Detail level is Quality
    Wait for Vsync is always off
    Ansio Filtering optomization is off
    Trilinear optomization is off
    DXT texture format support is on
    Bump mapping support is on
    Cat AI is low(minimum optomizations)
    Texture LOD adjustment is 0
    Geometry Instancing on

    In other words, auto balanced settings in Ati Tray Tools.
     
  18. mwmorph

    mwmorph Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright,m i went to safe mode, changed it to ogl and though it does look better, lighting is now all borked.

    room texture? lighting? Ion Storm is haunting me from the grave?
    http://img454.imageshack.us/img454/4400/deusexogl1roomlooksprettydecen.jpg
    http://img454.imageshack.us/img454/5825/deusexogl2roomhasweirdpatchesw.jpg
    http://img454.imageshack.us/img454/6703/deusexogl3roomstillhaspatchaft.jpg

    ay least when i turn on a light now, the whole wall dosent change color(D3D), just a circle of the wall. I truied software too but it flashes too, tried to force savage 3 and glide but wont work :(

    This happened on performance texture filtering, quality filtering, high quality filtering, aa. af is set app control mip map tried quality and high quality, in other words turned off all optomizatinos, set everything to highest quality and still nothing,
     
  19. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odd. I run the game on the exact same video card and it looks just fine. Make sure you are running under DirectX.

    The D3D renderer in the deusex.ini should look similar to this:

    [D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice]
    Translucency=True
    VolumetricLighting=True
    ShinySurfaces=True
    Coronas=True
    HighDetailActors=True
    UseMipmapping=True
    UseTrilinear=False
    UseMultitexture=False
    UsePageFlipping=True
    UsePalettes=True
    UseFullscreen=True
    UseGammaCorrection=True
    DetailTextures=True
    Use3dfx=False
    UseTripleBuffering=True
    UsePrecache=False
    Use32BitTextures=True
    DescFlags=1
    dwDeviceId=20042
    dwVendorId=4098
    UseVertexFog=False
    UseAGPTextures=False
    UseVideoMemoryVB=False
    UseVSync=True
    Description=RADEON 9800 XT
     
  20. mwmorph

    mwmorph Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm multitexture was no for me. I turned to false, no i'll just go test it.

    That fixed it thanks!
    Turned off multitexture, texture shange stopped but chain link fences glowed gright green
    turned on 32bit texturees and chain link looks fine
    turned on trilinear for the hell of it.
     
  21. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    I edited my previous settings. They were some old ones. The new ones should work better, i think. Multitexture should be off though.

    Also make sure "fullscreencolorbits=32"
     
  22. shortylickens

    shortylickens No Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61,746
    Likes Received:
    174
    DAMN! This problem got fixed without me.
    My suggestion was going to be the same as DOACleric.

    The user.ini and Deusex.ini have a lot of neat little goodies hidden in there.
    When I had similar problems moving from an 8500 to a 9700, I just disabled everything in the render section and then enabled them one at a time. Found out that trilinear was giving me issues occasionally. As well as triple buffering. Which is a shame, because those two things really improve the game. (Though that may have been in OpenGL and not D3D.)

    Got them working again when I moved to an X800. I now have a 7800GT. Based on the previous posts it should run fine with no hacking.
     
  23. Frodolives

    Frodolives Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad you got it worked out mwmorph. Very fun game, and I'm on the verge of starting another campaign :)
     
  24. Doc Uncanny

    Doc Uncanny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Then you may enjoy this. (Sorry about the post bumping.)

    Obligatory stats: My card is a "32MB Diamond Viper V770D Ultra NVIDIA". My machine has 512MB RAM and operates at 690MHZ.

    I tried what was suggested here (i.e. UseMultitexture=False, FullScreenColorBits=32). Unfortunately, FullScreenColorBits=32 hangs Deus Ex occasionally, and the combination of the two is slightly unappetizing.

    I attempted setting ColorBits back to false and Use32BitTextures=True, but it did nothing to the blacked-out mirrors and green safety glass wires. The other renderers don't seem to work well, and I've been experimenting with the various [D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice] options, few of which seem to help.

    I don't like the idea of buying a new $80+ AGP (non-Pro) card for an $8 game, so how might this be fixed? Is there a patch of some kind for Unreal that could be streched to fit Deus Ex GOTY?

    Incidentally, I never had this problem with the Deus Ex demo. :brokenheart:
     
  25. apoppin

    apoppin Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Messages:
    34,902
    Likes Received:
    0