Dell 2007WFP

Raptor45

Aug 31, 2006
Finally arrived... and I'm less than pleased.

No banding, or dead pixels, but a horrible backlight or view angle problem, not sure which.

Looking at a black screen, dead on, I see reddish bright areas in all four corners. Looking at it from a bit off center in front of one of the corners, the whole screen turns reddish purple. I'm not just being picky, this is absolutely horrid. Any idea how I should approach this problem? Just give a Dell a call and ask for a new one?

nwrigley

Jun 19, 2005
I'm not an expert, but if I were you I would go ahead and exchange it. Test it on another machine first if you can so at least you will be sure that it's a problem with the monitor.

Raptor45

Aug 31, 2006
Am I too close? Is it not worth testing an all black screen? Am I expecting too much from an LCD?

Looking at a black picture it has a noticeable reddish/purple hue around the corners which I wasn't expecting from a $400 monitor, but overall the picture quality is awesome.

EDIT: My biggest fear is having Dell send me a new one, then having exactly the same issue.

Raptor45

Aug 31, 2006
I could really use an answer here:

Should a pure black screen viewed dead-on from 1~2 ft away be a consistent black, or is very noticeable reddening in the corners normal? ...would posting some pics be helpful?

It appears to be due to the view angle, since I do see some slight back light bleeding coming down from the top of the screen and this is different.

xtknight

Elite Member
Oct 15, 2004
[The color black when displayed on] S-IPS screens will turn violet/brownish when looked at off-axis. This is just one of their characteristics. But if you're seeing it dead on, then you have an ununiform screen. I don't think there should be any redding in the corners, but it may be some coating they used.

Raptor45

Aug 31, 2006
Could anyone with a 2007WFP comment perhaps?

If this is normal for S-IPS at this angle then I'll learn to live with it, but...