Dead Emprex 4GB USB Flash Drive

Laputa

Golden Member
Jan 18, 2000
Doesn't recognize at all and I have tried different PCs. Anybody know how to test the circuits on this thing or know which resistor to knock off to do a hot connect. Anything that might lead to a solution will be greatly appreciated!

nboy22

Diamond Member
Jul 18, 2002
I'm not sure about the original question, however what I would do in this situation is open it up and see if there appears to be anything that was burnt/shorted that I could see with my own eyes. Or maybe there is a connection that became unsoldered.

It will probably be pretty difficult, I'm no electrical engineer but you could learn to use a voltmeter/multimeter and test each component to see where your ohms are really high (I think that is right, because ohm is resistance, and there would be 100 percent resistance through a broken resistor.)

C1

Platinum Member
Feb 21, 2008
Emprex is bottom end junk & not worth anyone's time. Learned my lesson with Emprex and thus always buy memory devices from reputable manufactures which make memory (Corsair, OCZ, Kingston, etc.)

corkyg

Elite Member | Peripherals
Super Moderator
Mar 4, 2000
Thumb drives and flash memory chips just die now and then. They are basically expandable. Like C1 says, don't waste your time. Replace it.

Laputa

Golden Member
Jan 18, 2000