• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."
  • Community Question: What makes a good motherboard?

DC farm picture thread, or DC rig Gallery (take your pic)

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,978
9,151
136
This thread was requested, so OK, Here are mine. And yes, I am a slob.

First, my main working computer, a 2695v3 14 core 28 thread with a 1080TI:

Next, upper left, a E5-2683v3 28 threads, with dual 980TI's
Lower left. a dual 6276 Opteron box with 32 cores and a 7970
Upper right an I7-950 and an old GTS250 (main gaming rig)
Lower right, E5-2683v3 28 threads, and dual 1070TI's (just a big black box)

Threadripper number 1 with dual 1080TI's

Next on the left, a 6700k with dual 1080's
On the right/behind it, a E5-2683v3 (28 threads) with dual 1070's

The one in the foreground is an 1800x with a 1070
The on behind it is threadripper number 2 with dual 1080TI's

My bedroom. Not sure on the order left to right, but
Starting from the left a 1700x with a 980TI
Next a E5-2683v3 (28 threads) and a 980
Next, a 4790k with a 980ti
and last on the right an E5-2683v3 and a generic video card

And last, work in progress, memory, TR4 Enermax 360 cooler, X399 Taichi, and 1950x, all on the way for threadripper number 3 ! When I can get video cards, there will be 2 1080TI's


And pictures 1 and 2 are in the computer room. Numbers 3,4 and 7 are all under the dining room table, number 5 is in the spare bedroom, and number 6 is in my bedroom. The distribution heats the house nicely and doesn't blow circuit breakers, as each picture is basically on its own circuit. (except 3,4 and 7 share the kitchen, dining room, and some of the computer room power)
 
Last edited:

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,951
3,637
136
(2) Ryzen 1700 + 2x GTX 1050 Ti open air rigs:


Threadripper 1950X + 2x GTX 1080 Ti in Thermaltake P3 open air frame:


Ryzen 1700 + GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 1070 Ti in TT P3 open air frame:
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,978
9,151
136
(2) Ryzen 1700 + 2x GTX 1050 Ti open air rigs:


Threadripper 1950X + 2x GTX 1080 Ti in Thermaltake P3 open air frame:


Ryzen 1700 + GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 1070 Ti in TT P3 open air frame:
Cool ! Literally. I would but I don't have enough table space for 15 computers ! But I do have all the side covers off to minimize use of fans.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Orange Kid and IEC

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,951
3,637
136
Not really a DC rig, but shows what I can do when I build actual desktops for people. This one was for a friend:

Much cleaner cable management since it had a side window (not shown).
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,978
9,151
136
And what women wouldn't want this for a dining room table !

And a farm isn't complete without a barn full of spares and equipment ! (the entire closet)

And the spare bed/bedroom as a work table !
 
  • Like
Reactions: ao_ika_red

StefanR5R

Diamond Member
Dec 10, 2016
3,837
4,174
136
@IEC, I tend to think that open-air rigs are the most sensible ones for DC rigs... Though my own are all in run-of-the-mill closed cases currently.

I am keeping computers in two rooms. A few weeks ago I finally assembled a cheap shelf for the computers in one of the rooms:


I still need to organize the cables better, for easier cleaning of fan filters at the back of the shelf etc.

On top of the GigE switch sits a 4x DVI KVM switch, which I bought at a time during which I still seriously underestimated the addictive nature of DC. Tony's 16x KVM switch is the real deal...

The left four PCs are dual-socket Broadwell-EP appliances. The first two I had built for an engineering application half a year before I discovered Distributed Computing as a means to minimize downtimes of those Xeons, and the TeAm as the group to be in. The next two I mainly built because DC sprints are addictive.

The rightmost two PCs were built just a few weeks ago; they are socket-1151 PCs with dual-1080Ti, watercooled. They exhaust air to the back of the shelf through a thick 360 radiator and to the top through a slim 240 radiator. This amount of radiator surface is actually too little to remain as quiet as I wished, as it requires fans to spin at 1000+ RPM for good GPU temperatures. I need to think of something which lets me mount bigger radiators without sacrificing density.

The four dual-CPU PCs to the left draw air from front and back, and exhaust air at their top. The shelf is spaced from the wall by about 4 inches, which is enough to prevent recirculation of hot air from exhaust to inlet. All six PCs have their front fascia removed, for free air flow.

I already posted pictures of the innards of the dual-CPU PCs a while ago (originally in the cases & cooling forum, where somebody was curious about RAM clearance beneath tower coolers and such); here they are again:
















The tray of the Corsair 400Q needed minimal modification in order to mount the SSI-EEB mainboards. But I chose this case for space efficiency. It's the 1st, original revision of the 400Q which allows unscrewing the top panel, which is pretty much required in order to mount all those parts into this cramped space. There is a second revision of 400Q which sadly has the top panel riveted. (I used the 2nd revision for the two dual-GPU PCs at the right of the 1st photo, but I am not entirely satisfied with that choice.)

I still need to take photos of the watercooled PCs, notably of the one with triple GPUs and external MO-RA (360x360 radiator)... Until then, here is a quick ill-lit shot of another dual-GPU PC of mine (Thermaltake case, with thick 360 radiator in the front and medium 420 radiator at the top, watercooled GPUs temporarily unseated for smoke-testing of an air-cooled GPU):
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,978
9,151
136
And while trying to organize today, and clean a little, I found this bunch of old CPU's, 4 of which are actually usable, and I would give away to a fellow DCer if they promised to use it for DC. Intel E5520 (factory delided) and E5530, and AMD, 2 Opteron 6234's.

There are Old AMD Athlon 2400 and 2600 and 2 durons, some old Intel Pentium somethings, and not sure what the slot Intel is.
 

TennesseeTony

Elite Member
Aug 2, 2003
4,047
3,105
136
www.google.com
Pentium 2 or early 3, the slot design. :D Nostalgia.

Close race between IEC and Stefan R5R for tidiness. ;) Gonna have to go with Stefan, due to the quantity involved.

Clearly, Markfw and I are single and live alone. :D

This is my 'work bench' and temporary systems area. This is a wider shot to show I am every bit as....cluttered....as someone else in this forum. Don't laugh at my 'window dressings,' I mean, what else would I use such a bath towel for now that the girls are grown? :)

At the top of the short stack is my 2P 56 thread Xeon, with dual 1080's. The skeleton on the desk is an i7 Haswell with quad AMD R9-280X's, and dual power supplies. The rest are just getting updated for sale/other uses, 8 of them are 2P 24 thread Xeon Dell workstations.




But then the real workers, as found in my sig. 5 systems, 4x 28 thread Xeons, and the triple GPU skeleton is an 8 thread AMD. 5 1080's and 3 1070's here.



I'll be converting the 28 thread boxes to the white cases and building a custom 'display case/rack' for them....someday.


And most of that stack is a 3x4U data center UPS, the unit and two battery packs. That this thing is rated for 6.5KW is just mind-blowing. :)
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,978
9,151
136
OK Tony I still think I win for messiness ! :) No dining room table or spare bed there... But you probably do have a bigger house, I have 1308 square feet.
 

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
1,670
707
136
Thanks Mark for making this thread (yay!). Really amazed by your arsenals. Xeons, Threadrippers, and 1080tis all over the place. I once saw a D15S case in an open rig but Stefan's is just wow. Two, I mean, TWO D15 in an enclosed case is somewhat an achievement. Kudos to all of you! Your dedication is something else.

Here's mine.


It was built as a proof of concept that with salvaged components one would have a decent all-purpose PC for less than $500. At that time, a lot of people ditched their FM2+ system for cheap due to Ryzen sensation swept across the nation. And thanks to far away gift (thanks, Crashtech!), decent year-end sales, and a gpu trade deal, I finally have a more rounded system as you see now (It was 860k w/ R7 360 compared to 845 w/ rx 560 for now).
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,978
9,151
136
Crashtech and I are contemplating making a "pay it forward" thread where DC'ers with extra parts can donate to those that need some parts, but can't afford it, or those with extra parts they just want to donate to a fellow DCer, so it can go to a good cause. I listed a few above, but if we get this rolling there will be a lot more "free" hardware to DCers in need.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: indydude345

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,978
9,151
136
And maximize dust as well it seems from the pictures.
Well, the only place I saw it was on a screen, those I don't care about, But the computers get an "enema" regularly.
 

ZipSpeed

Golden Member
Aug 13, 2007
1,299
160
106
Rigs located at work:

Q9550 on the left, i7-970 on the right


i5-2500K


i7-3770K, my primary rig at my work


i5-760 on top, Ryzen 7 1700 on bottom (open air)


X6 1055T


Rigs located at home:

i7-3770K, my primary rig at home


i7-2600K, HTPC


I have an i3-540 and G3258 connected to other TVs, but I don't use them for DC.
 

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
1,670
707
136
@ericlp pictures posted above probably will give you some inspiration how to done your DC farm/rig/system/machine/whatever you call it. ;)
And once you've done with yours, you may post your rig here as well.
 

ericlp

Diamond Member
Dec 24, 2000
6,077
185
106
@ericlp pictures posted above probably will give you some inspiration how to done your DC farm/rig/system/machine/whatever you call it. ;)
And once you've done with yours, you may post your rig here as well.
May I???



3 140mm fans, 2 140mm fans on the bottom and 1 140mm fan rear... 3 120mm fans on AIO enermax attached to radiator for the TR 1950X and 3 fans of course on the 1080ti... I just bought a new office space in Hilo... So, power is included in the HOA fees and YES... I asked if I could run my computer 24/7... No problems...

But when Power is cheap... Power in the state of Hawaii on the Big Island is almost .50 cents per kw. Insane.... But when I lived in Oregon...This how one would roll back in 2003... Power was cheap in oregon... Hydropower rules!



Notice, that there are no Hard Drives? Yes, Linux was KING back in those days... Loading up Linux from a 3.5" floppy, then a small Seti Client that got work units to crunch from the server room ... in another spare bedroom in the house. LOL Sadly no pictures of the dell server racks.

That's when I crunched for the team under "seti cruncher"... :)





Those were the days... Maybe I'll go insane again, get off solar and move back to the states and convert a whole an entire basement of Thread Rippers. :D
 

ericlp

Diamond Member
Dec 24, 2000
6,077
185
106
Depends on the wife, she will be graduating with a Dr of pham degree in a few years. If she moves ... I'll follow. If so, we will definitely get a huge house for all the toys. And heck, I'll make sure it's got central AC and at least 3-4 bedrooms that are super close to the breaker box! That's what one of my problems was, the last house the breaker box was ALL the way out in the garage, and the last bedroom was about 500 feet from the box all the way down at the other end. That time I didn't know much about how to add in wire and new breakers. I bought a few more boards and the 15 amp breaker kept tripping... I know a lot more now. Can practically run 20/30 amp breakers and #12 wires in my sleep!
 

Pokey

Platinum Member
Oct 20, 1999
2,680
313
126
Just out of curiosity, is that Maxtor drive still alive?
Good eye, you made me go look. :)

Yep it is. 160 GB Maxtor. Circa 2003. But it has IDE/molex connections and none of my current MBs have the data ribbon connector for it.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: ao_ika_red

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
1,670
707
136
I once had that one too, but with much less capacity (less than 20GB) that came with Pentium III HP Vectra. It's just collecting dust in my parents' house. I remember it failed in less than 3 yrs and after that we replaced it with Samsung HDD. Every time I return to their house I always spend some time with it, just for the sake of childhood memory.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY