Dash developer gets kicked off App Store for review fraud

Eug

Lifer
Mar 11, 2000
http://daringfireball.net/2016/10/apple_dash_controversy

I've been following this for a few days, just out of morbid curiosity. I have no stake in the matter since I am not a developer, I am not related to the developer, and I don't use Dash. And no, I don't own any Apple stock either.

Basically Dash got pulled and the developer said he didn't know why. Then Apple (including even Phil Schiller) said they had proof of repeated review fraud, and the developer said he did no such thing.

The latest is that it turns out it's a second account that the developer claims was one he paid for, but gave to a relative to help her get started as a developer. That's apparently where all the fraud came from, and apparently was about apps he didn't actually develop.

So, while not great for the Dash developer, it was a least looking a bit rosier for him, and he could probably get himself out of this mess.

Then the developer pubished a phone conversation he had with Apple. Personally I think this action means he has basically fscked himself over. If you listen to the phone conversation, Apple sounds more than reasonable, yet the developer has broken the trust by publishing a private conversation without Apple's permission.

https://blog.kapeli.com/dash-and-apple-my-side-of-the-story

At this point, if the Dash developer gets back on the App Store, he should consider himself very, very lucky because things are looking terrible for him now.

Tweak155

Lifer
Sep 23, 2003
Interesting post. I agree Apple was very fair in the phone conversation. I don't know why he made the call public either way?

Feb 25, 2011
Interesting post. I agree Apple was very fair in the phone conversation. I don't know why he made the call public either way?

Because the world is full of people who BELIEVE THEY ARE RIGHT.