Corsair H60 or comparable?

thejohnfist

Sep 17, 2014
Hello all! Let's start off with the facts necessary here. I'm currently running an Intel i7 2600k on the OEM cooler, yeah I know...

That being said, it's slowly giving up it's ability to keep the CPU below 70C on factory clock speeds. I'd like to get something cooler, and potentially quieter, with a little room for any future light overclocking.

I've been eyeing the H60, but I've never done liquid before, and am not entirely sure where to get good info on the matter.

Again, ideally looking for small, liquid, and quiet. Help!

lehtv

Elite Member
Dec 8, 2010
In what circumstances is it exceeding 70°C? If it's idling that high, then it's not properly seated and it should overheat and crash in the slightest workloads, and you need to reseat it. If you're stress testing it, then 70°C is nothing, you can exceed 80°C at load and it'll still be fine for an Intel CPU. 70°C while gaming seems typical to me, nothing unusual.

In any case though, upgrading the stock cooler to a quieter one makes sense. For light overclocking, you can't go wrong with Hyper 212 EVO $35, although a Thermalright True Spirit 140 $55 or a Thermalright HR-02 Macho $53 will perform better while staying quieter. The 212 EVO makes sense if you aren't THAT picky about noise levels and temperatures, it's still a substantial improvement over the stock cooler. Whichever you get, make sure the cooler fits in your case.

I don't recommend liquid coolers at all, they have pump noise and typically high RPM fans. At every price point, there's a better air cooler available.

Last edited:

tarmc

Mar 12, 2013
the h60 and 75 are good options also kraken x41? is great as well

Last edited:

thejohnfist

Sep 17, 2014
I don't recommend liquid coolers at all, they have pump noise and typically high RPM fans. At every price point, there's a better air cooler available.