Converting a dir/list/catalog (not content) to ISO disk image.

Masterguy

Jul 8, 2018
Hi, my first post.
It is possible to make an ISO or any valid disk image of an disk/folder without the physical content, only the disk full tree or list directory, able to be mounted as an ordinary virtual disk?

I am an 74+ old musician, trying to enjoy my last years with my tons of big sampler libraries and audio stuff, I already tried various disk cataloger apps, all doing fine for what is intended, but not one let me get what I want. Usually, and aside of the 4 internal disk, I need to work with up to 6 external esata/usb physical disk drives, which can be kinda cumbersome sometimes, however I would need just read the content list directory of a disk, that is why I use disk catalog apps, but those don,t let me make search with the Windows integrated search engine/indexer. I stay tuned with any help. Thanks.

TheELF

Diamond Member
Dec 22, 2012
I did not understand what your goal is here!?
You want to search on a ISO image that only contains a folder tree but no files?!?!

You can make a text file of all your folder tree and search through it with any text editor
(Warning if the file is going to be ginormous it might bring your system to it's knees. )
To do this open up cmd (windows search for CMD )
dir c:\ (or d:\ or e:\ for whatever drive) and press enter,then
dir /s /b >file.txt (and enter) will create a text file with all the directory tree of this disk complete with file names.

Masterguy

Jul 8, 2018
I did not understand what your goal is here!?
You want to search on a ISO image that only contains a folder tree but no files?!?!

Hi TheELF, thanks!
Yes, I want to search on a ISO image that only contains a folder tree but no files. I know how to create text and html with folder tree, and although the method you describe is new for me I acomplished that task via some file utilities apps, but it doesn't work for my goal of an integrated/all disks searching.