Coffeelake thread, benchmarks, reviews, input, everything.

Page 20 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

moonbogg

Lifer
Jan 8, 2011
10,571
2,926
136
Oh boy, not this scenario again. TWICE now we've said "It can't be so" with both Ryzen and X299, but it was so. Is it so again? Gaming performance less than it should be? Why would they mess with the mesh or cache on these chips? I think its a bunk slide.
 

StinkyPinky

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2002
6,731
723
126
Oh boy, not this scenario again. TWICE now we've said "It can't be so" with both Ryzen and X299, but it was so. Is it so again? Gaming performance less than it should be? Why would they mess with the mesh or cache on these chips? I think its a bunk slide.
Well we know sure enough in a few hours.
 

coercitiv

Diamond Member
Jan 24, 2014
5,386
9,013
136
Oh boy, not this scenario again. TWICE now we've said "It can't be so" with both Ryzen and X299, but it was so. Is it so again? Gaming performance less than it should be? Why would they mess with the mesh or cache on these chips? I think its a bunk slide.
My money is not on the cache, but rather on the same type of rushed launch as X299 that gave mobo makers little time to prepare on the software side. We'll probably see locked turbo ratios or other weird turbo behavior due to partially working power management, which is fine on one side since this can be soon addressed via updates, but not fine in the context of first impression.

Let's hope the hardware Intel sent to reviewers is in a different shape BIOS wise than what smaller review sites managed to buy and review before the NDA expires.
 

FlanK3r

Senior member
Sep 15, 2009
312
37
91
guys, logicaly, depends at games, settings of games etc And also at setting BIOS, because we have edhanced turbo settings vs Intel spec settings. Tahts mean in first case, CPU working in all scenarios (without AVX stress) at max turboobost, so at 4.7GHz! With Intel spec CPU working at lower specs. So you will see mixed review, higher numbers will be with edhnaced multicore turbo (simply if Cinebench will be around the 1450+points at stock) and lower scores at Intel specs BIOS settings (13xx points in R15).
 
  • Like
Reactions: hnizdo

Blue Storm

Junior Member
Jun 25, 2009
3
1
76
Well, as I wrote in the post with these results (that table are my results of 8700K), some numbers of game tests are weird and I will try to find the problem today and re-test it with clean OS of it changes. If not, there is bottleneck somewhere... but it isn't secret that Ubisoft games are generally not so well optimised and as you can see results of 7900X, they maybe don't like high-core-count Intel CPUs. Will see...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zucker2k

justoh

Diamond Member
Jun 11, 2013
3,686
81
91
But I'm telling you a secret. In terms of gaming, the star is not 8700K, but 8600K overclock. 8600K is a real beast. It's cool and can run stable at 5.3 GHz using an AIO cooler.
Sounds promising. Guess I'll have a few weeks to reconsider getting an 8700k, since I can't get either at the moment, apparently. Most etailers in CH referencing a 15.10 stock date. Currently have a 2500 non k. Plan on using the input here and in the other thread to work out the rest of the components. Thanks in advance.
 

LTC8K6

Lifer
Mar 10, 2004
28,520
1,574
126
We will probably see that most games still don't need or use more than 4 cores.
 

Glo.

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2015
5,245
3,813
136
3 different reviews show power delta between Idle and Load for Core i5 8400@ around 45W. Thats is very good info. Also the CPu draws under load just 6W more than i5 7500.
 

vissarix

Senior member
Jun 12, 2015
297
93
101
And to think there were people saying that Intel was finished...got caught with pants down, its all over and bla bla bla...

Yet here we have a 6 core oc to 5ghz scoring 1663 on cinebench MT which is higher then stock 1800X, so you need to overclock an 8 core Ryzen $500 flagship to catch up with a six core Intel which also costs a lot less...

And this is the best case scenario for Ryzen, i mean outside Cinebench you wont see that scaling on any application which will make coffeelake even more lethal...no wonder Amd drop prices like mad, selling 8 cores for $250:p

Threadcrapping and trolling are not allowed.
Markfw
Anandtech Moderator
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: CHADBOGA

FIVR

Diamond Member
Jun 1, 2016
3,753
911
106
Geez, it gets absolutely demolished by even the base 1600 in AES. Why does it perform so poorly?



4.7Ghz getting beaten badly by 3.2Ghz AMD. I never thought I'd see that. It's like the reverse of bulldozer/sandy bridge
 

PhonakV30

Senior member
Oct 26, 2009
980
352
136
Geez, it gets absolutely demolished by even the base 1600 in AES. Why does it perform so poorly?



4.7Ghz getting beaten badly by 3.2Ghz AMD. I never thought I'd see that. It's like the reverse of bulldozer/sandy bridge
This is synthetic benchmark, just look at reality.Hard to believe that 5930K is faster than 8700K ( all cores at 4.3Ghz) , at least according to Anandtech
It must be Bios Fault.
 

vissarix

Senior member
Jun 12, 2015
297
93
101


Lol at that poor Ryzen cpu, 30 to 50% slower on gaming:oops:

Threadcrapping and trolling are not allowed.
Markfw
Anandtech Moderator
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Burpo

Diamond Member
Sep 10, 2013
4,223
473
126
Wow, that sucked.. 8700 & Asus combo in cart, went & selected memory, added to cart & 8700 combo had been removed.. Sold out! :(
 

FIVR

Diamond Member
Jun 1, 2016
3,753
911
106
This is synthetic benchmark, just look at reality.Hard to believe that 5930K is faster than 8700K ( all cores at 4.3Ghz) , at least according to Anandtech
It must be Bios Fault.
So it's a BIOS fault? I suppose that makes sense. To see 4 core 4ghz AMD matching 6 core 4.7Ghz intel is surprising to say the least.
 

pantsaregood

Senior member
Feb 13, 2011
993
37
91
I'm interested to see if someone manages to inject Coffee Lake microcode into Z170/Z270 motherboards or if Skylake/Kaby Lake gets injected into Z370 motherboards.

There are some extra voltage pins on Coffee Lake, but the fact it was tested on Z270 motherboards means that it can theoretically run without them. It was even called a "firmware lockout," so I think seeing modified BIOS is quite likely.
 

LTC8K6

Lifer
Mar 10, 2004
28,520
1,574
126
Geez, it gets absolutely demolished by even the base 1600 in AES. Why does it perform so poorly?



4.7Ghz getting beaten badly by 3.2Ghz AMD. I never thought I'd see that. It's like the reverse of bulldozer/sandy bridge
Looks correct to me given the 7700K numbers. SL-X and Ryzen are just better at this benchmark.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY