CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

Status
Not open for further replies.

MoonSword

Oct 25, 2001
I have two Socket-A motherboards, Asus A7V333 (Rev 1.02) and an ECS K75SA Pro (Rev 5.0L)

The problem is that the CMOS batteries (CR2032 coin cell) need to be replaced frequenlty... is this normal for Socket-A/Athlon XP systems?

Actually, the Asus A7V333 board's original battery lasted a year before I needed to first replace it, and the replacement battery lasted six months. Ever since then, I've only gotten 3 months of life out of each battery.

The ECS K7S5A Pro was recently purchased new from Newegg.com, but its original battery only lasted two months.

I have been an A+ certified tech for years, and in all this time, I've rarely ever had to replace a CMOS battery. Heck, I've got an old Asus P3V4X slot-1 (P2/P3/Celeron) motherboard that I used for four years, and not once did I have to replace the CMOS battery. I've never had to replace a CMOS battery in my old Socket-7 systems, either. I find it odd and most annoying.

Obscure troubleshooting tip: My Asus A7V333 won't boot if the CMOS battery is no good. In fact, the computer acts totally dead, which would lead many to believe the problem lies in a DOA Motherboard, bad power supply, or a faulty case power switch, etc... Some motherboards act totally dead if the CMOS battery is no good, and it's an easy fix that only costs a trip to your local Walmart or Radio Shack and $3. I just wish the darn battery would last longer than a few months.

MoonSword

I don't believe the OP still needs help with this 11 years later.
admin allisolm

Last edited by a moderator:

homestarmy

Diamond Member
Apr 16, 2004
artwilbur.com