Chase mortgage "equity accelerator" program....what's the bottom line?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fausto

Elite Member
Nov 29, 2000
At face value, seems like a relatively painless way to increase my home equity. On the other hand, I know there has to be something in it for Chase (they wouldn't "offer" otherwise) and I've found a few web sites with warnings that this and similar programs essentially amount to a scam and that I can really do this on my own without enrolling in any "program".

Being "challenged" in the area of finance (I'm a biologist, remember ;) ) I throw myself at the mercy of the ATOT collective intellect before making a decision. Any and all info is appreciated. :)

Fausto

PS- $50 to start the program and $9 per month "participation fee" for Chase's program.

Last edited by a moderator:

rahvin

Elite Member
Oct 10, 1999
If they charge you $50 to start and $9 a month without providing anything than it's a scam. Now if you want to provide the details of the program I might reconsider that assesment.

Oakenfold

Diamond Member
Feb 8, 2001
I bet RossMAN Knows what the dealio is.

Let's see if the bat-signal gets his attention.

Um okay I don't see anywhere on there where it tells you what they are doing and how they are saving money except for this?

How is the interest applied?
Our program actually optimizes the passbook interest paid. This interest is posted monthly as an extra amount that is applied to the principal of your loan. Therefore, your passbook interest helps to pay off your mortgage even sooner and your cumulative interest savings become even greater

Listed under their FAQ.
No idea what this is or how it works.

Mill

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
It just gets you to pay bi-weekly and avoid accrual of some interest. I am not sure how it lets you pay down the principle more, but their program says it does. Maybe Vic knows???

dirtboy

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999