Carry Concealed Weapons Revisited

Jan 18, 2001
Well people, I know this is an issue that people are either FOR or AGAINST, with few in between. Passions run high on both sides, so lets keep this flame free. I myself have remained dubious about the wisdom of CCW laws, but being a scientist, I have deferred to "the research" by John Lott. In light of these articles, I suspect that we will be hearing a lot more about this topic.

Please feel free to share.

From the Capitol Times:

UW Stout professor sounds in with an editorial (this is where I started reading about this topic)

Brady Campaign on John Lott

Cliff Notes: The researcher who has provided a pillar of empirical evidence in favor of CCW has not faired well under academic scrutiny. Major question about the wisdom and support for CCW laws are raised.

Search terms: Lott, Rosh, guns, concealed, handguns

Ferocious

Diamond Member
Feb 16, 2000
From all that I've ever read.......CCW laws (or lack thereof) have had NO significant effect on crime rates....for better or worse.

amok

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
What Ferocious said.

Funny you should mention this today though, as I just got mine renewed ;).

Bigdude

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
I dont believe in conceled carry laws, I don't need them! The 2nd Amendment is my permit!

konichiwa

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
I don't believe in speed limits, I get happy when I speed. Aren't I guaranteed the ability to pursue hapiness?

Can we get a moron filter around here?

Bigdude

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
Originally posted by: konichiwa
I don't believe in speed limits, I get happy when I speed. Aren't I guaranteed the ability to pursue hapiness?

You prove my argument! Why do I need a permit, when it's a guaranteed right, in the 2nd amendment?

konichiwa

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
"A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."