Canon Normal EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Autofocus Lens - Beginner issue.

Discussion in 'Digital and Video Cameras' started by Coldkilla, Feb 1, 2012.

1. Coldkilla

Coldkilla Diamond Member

Hello Anandtech once more,

I am extremely new to photography so if you could bare with me. I purchased a Canon T2i and a Canon Normal EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Autofocus Lens. I had a fair amount of time to learn how the stock lens worked on the camera so I figured the change wouldn't be too drastic (operational wise that is)...

I put the new lens on, switched the camera to manual mode and flipped the switch on the lens itself from MF to AF. Taking from what I learned about my previous lens, I held the shutter button half-pressed and to my surprise the lens does not auto-focus. Is this normal? I also tried changing it in the menu settings and it would not let me.

Any thoughts for this new photographer? Thanks!

Ps: An aside issue: Also, the Aperture is F0.0 and I cannot change it.

2. Loading...

Similar Threads - Canon Normal 50mm Forum Date
    Canon FL 55mm F1.2 OR Nikkor 55mm F1.2? Digital and Video Cameras May 25, 2016
    Canon 7Dii doesn't let you use a flash when shooting video?? Digital and Video Cameras Apr 15, 2016
    Help - Sony PMW-200 OR Canon XA25 for Sdi over fiber applications Digital and Video Cameras Apr 14, 2016
    For those familar with the Canon G7X Digital and Video Cameras Mar 16, 2016
    Is this normal on a lens? Digital and Video Cameras Dec 9, 2011

3. Madwand1

Madwand1 Diamond Member

No, this is not normal, and you shouldn't have had to switch it to AF from MF -- it should have come as AF as the normal default (of course someone might have bought and returned it though). Try taking off the lens, maybe cleaning the lens contacts, powering down, etc. If that doesn't work, maybe the lens is defective.

4. angry hampster

angry hampster Diamond Member

Lens is defective or the cam is not reading it properly if aperture is showing 0.

5. Coldkilla