C# Restful Service Question. How do you get an integer value?

JC0133

Nov 2, 2010
This is my first semester taking C# and working on web services. I started the semester off learning SOAP, now I am learning REST. I hear REST is the more popular one to use. So far it seems harder to user to me, but I am still very new to it.

So I am trying to create restful service. Actually creating the service is working. I want to get a return int value from the service and on my client/console side store that int value into a int arrayList.

Problem is the rest service is returning the entire xml string. like this

<int xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/2003/10/Serialization/">0</int>

I just want the 0, so I can store that value in my arrayList. I feel like C# should have some simple library or something that allows me to just get the values in between the xml tags.

I wrote up test code to get me a better idea of how to get data from my REST services.

Here is code in the service contract of WCF(we are supposed to use WCF in this assignment, so I am using it in my test code).

[ServiceContract]
public interface IService1
{

[OperationContract]
[WebGet(BodyStyle = WebMessageBodyStyle.Bare)]
int getTrafficAccidentsByZip(int zCode);
[OperationContract]
[WebGet(UriTemplate = "latlonValues?lonVal={lonVal}&latVal={latVal}", BodyStyle =WebMessageBodyStyle.Bare)]
int getTrafficAccidentByLonLat(double lonVal, double latVal);

// TODO: Add your service operations here
}

Here is the implementation of the contracts. Like I said, this is test code. So I am just returning 0

public class Service1 : IService1
{
public int getTrafficAccidentsByZip(int zCode)
{
return 0;
}

public int getTrafficAccidentByLonLat(double lonVal, double latValue)
{
return 0;
}

This is what I have in main. You can see below that I tried to convert the string to int. That caused an error.

string url = @"http://localhost:14722/Service1.svc/getTrafficAccidentsByZip";