best way to clean drywall sand dust off of painted walls/ceilings?

purbeast0

No Lifer
Sep 13, 2001
i've finished patching up some holes that i had to cut from the wall of a finished room, with painted walls/ceiling. there are about 10 holes total.

now there is drywall dust on the walls around the patched holes from me sanding it down after putting the mudding filler in the gaps.

it is also all over the carpet in a lot of spaces, but i ran my vacuum over some areas to test it out and it got the stuff up just fine, so getting it off the floor won't be a problem.

i am wondering though what the best way to get it off the painted walls, without messing up the paint on the walls and leaving any marks on them. anyone have any experience with this and wanna suggest the best way to do this?

this is the first time i've ever done anything like this so i'm a noob to it.

purbeast0

No Lifer
Sep 13, 2001
damp microfibre cloth.

i do have a few of those that i use to dry my car with. by damp you mean just get it wet then totally ring it out? so that shouldn't leave any streaks or anything on the wall then?

DrPizza

Administrator Elite Member Goat Whisperer
Mar 5, 2001
www.slatebrookfarm.com
You must have an upright vacuum, not one with a hose? I'd use a longer hose on the vacuum & a soft bristle vacuum head. With a vacuum, you have to pay close attention to the air it's blowing out. Sometimes, that very fine dust makes its way through if you don't have good filters.

bignateyk

Lifer
Apr 22, 2002
Damp sponge (the big ones that you use for grouting)... rinse and repeat. Unless it's a textured ceiling...

purbeast0

No Lifer
Sep 13, 2001
You must have an upright vacuum, not one with a hose? I'd use a longer hose on the vacuum & a soft bristle vacuum head. With a vacuum, you have to pay close attention to the air it's blowing out. Sometimes, that very fine dust makes its way through if you don't have good filters.