Best Journaling Linux File Systems

SleepWalkerX

Platinum Member
Jun 29, 2004
Was thinking about whether I should stick with ReiserFS or try out a new fs. Then when I remember having my reiserfs partition fail on me and cause me to reformat, it pretty much came down to either XFS or JFS as my next partition.

I know each fs has a special area they excel in when judging speed, but just think overall performance.

ProviaFan

Lifer
Mar 17, 2001
I like XFS, but I started using it back when I didn't feel that ReiserFS was very trustworthy, and there were evidently also some concerns about JFS (mostly that it was new on Linux and untested). I've never tried anything else because XFS has been working just fine.

halfadder

Golden Member
Dec 5, 2004
I have been using XFS since 1995, originally on a Silicon Graphics Indigo2 workstation running the IRIX OS.

Now I use XFS on all of my Linux machines.

drag

Elite Member
Jul 4, 2002
Ext3.

XFS is designed for when your hardware doesn't suck. If your using PC-grade hardware (IDE, SATA, SCSI in a Dell or HP box using Pentium, Opteron, Xeon, cpus, etc etc) then it sucks and XFS puts your data at risk compared to Ext3.

Ext3, in comparision, is designed specificly for commodity-class hardware and does extra things that while may cause it to perform slower on some benchmarks (which doesn't nessiciarlly reflect real world performance), does help to ensure reliability. A filesystem, by definition, is going to be data integrety first, speed second.

From here:
http://linuxmafia.com/faq/Filesystems/reiserfs.html

Date: Sun, 19 Dec 2004 23:10:09 -0500
To: [a mailing list]
User-Agent: Mutt/1.5.6+20040907i
Subject: Re: [evals] ext3 vs reiser with quotas

On Wed, Dec 15, 2004 at 01:31:13PM -0800, Sean Perry wrote:
> Net Llama! wrote:
> >I really have to ask what you were running when you had that FS
> >corruption. I've never seen anything like that, and i've been using XFS
> >for about 3 years now on over 15 different boxes.
> >
>