Being sued by Dell

CDC Mail Guy

Golden Member
May 2, 2005
A few months ago, I got served to appear in court in January 2014. It is from the Collection Agency that Dell uses. My FIRST name is mis-spelled on the paperwork (they left the first letter off...not sure if that matters)

I'll be honest and tell you that I stopped paying Dell quite some time ago. I missed the 30 day deadline to file my response. I owe them like $3,000.

What is the WORST scenario if I don't go to court on that date? Warrant for arrest? Just curious. I do not have $3,000 laying around, and can barely get by from month to month...that is why I stopped paying them in the first place.

Other than being served, I have heard nothing from either Dell, or their collection agency in well over 2 years.

Xed

Golden Member
Nov 15, 2003
I'm no lawyer but I assume if you ignore the summons the judge will just automatically rule against you and garnish your wages or whatever he/she feels is appropriate.

If your finances were so dire you should have known better than to take out a loan of over 3k.

OCGuy

Lifer
Jul 12, 2000
Dell is not suing you, they sold the debt.

It is a civil matter, you don't get arrested.

They will issue a judgment which will show up on your credit. If they wanted to, they could ask the court to garnish your paycheck or seize your checking account, until it is paid.

Or you could BK, which I don't recommend unless it is a large amount.

Rinaun

Golden Member
Dec 30, 2005
This is exactly why you DONT finance. I feel bad for you not making ends meet monthly, but it sounds like you did this one to yourself.

If you don't show, chances are they will put this on your credit and possible wage garnishing if the judge deems the amount/situation worthy. I just wish you would have contacted them and worked something out instead of now dealing with the credit agency. Dell might of even lowered the owed amount a bit.

CDC Mail Guy

Golden Member
May 2, 2005