AT&T Moto X on T-Mobile

Lone Ranger

Dec 7, 2007
I bought an unlocked Moto X that is AT&T branded. I now use it on T-Mobile in the Mpls/St Paul area. So far, my call quality has been horrible. I've had 4 dropped calls in two days. My question is: how can you tell if there are different radios inside an AT&T branded Moto and a T-Mobile branded Moto? For the most part they use the same bands, but is it possible that the AT&T phone is missing support for some of the bands that T-Mobile uses in my area?

If so, I suppose I would want to get rid of this one and buy an actual T-Mobile model. Love the phone, but I'm one of those people that still makes phone calls with a cell phone!

Ravynmagi

Diamond Member
Jun 16, 2007
I'm not good at understanding these bands myself. I know that T-Mobile uses a 1700MHz band that AT&T doesn't. But my understanding is T-Mobile is switching over to support AT&T's 1900MHz for 3G. Not sure if this has any bearing on call quality though. *shrug*

Main reason I'm replying though is I saw the good news is that motomaker.com now supports customized Moto X phones for T-Mobile and the other carriers now.

lopri

Elite Member
Jul 27, 2002
Check your APN settings and manually change the APN to fast.t-mobile.com if it isn't that already. If the phone is locked to AT&T, T-Mobile SIM should not work at all. If you are truly unsure, try www.imei.info and check the phone's IMEI number. I used that site to check my parents' iPhone 4's unlock status some time ago and it provided correct information at the time.

What kind of signal are you getting? Is there anyone in your neighborhood who uses T-Mobile and can share the experience?

hans007

Lifer
Feb 1, 2000
At&t phone is the xt1058 which is shared with a lot of Latin america countries and canada.