Asus EPU Power Saving Mode: Should I enable it?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Dankk, May 16, 2012.

  1. Dankk

    Dankk Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking around at the BIOS for my Asus P8P67 motherboard, there's a feature called "EPU Power Saving Mode" which is disabled by default. The information on the sidepanel of the BIOS explains pretty much nothing useful... only that it saves power... somehow.

    I'm baffled as to how little information there is about this feature. I've looked all over the internet about it, and I don't think anyone knows exactly how it works.

    When I set EPU Power Saving to "Enabled", I get a menu with four different modes: "Auto", "Light Power Saving", "Medium Power Saving", and "Max Power Saving".

    How exactly will this feature help (or potentially make things worse, for that matter)? Will it give me lower temperatures? Will it lower my gaming performance as well? Will my overall computer performance be slower?

    I'm not an overclocker, BTW. I'm just a little too curious about this feature and whether or not I should have it enabled, or just leave it turned off. Thanks.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Asus Power Saving Forum Date
    Asus UEFI bios and auto start when power is switched on Motherboards Nov 26, 2016
    Power saving gigabyte/Asus... best HW combination? Motherboards Aug 19, 2014
    Burned Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen 3 Power Connector Motherboards Mar 22, 2014
    Asus P6t deluxe V2 wont boot or power up, standby lights only Motherboards Sep 15, 2013
    Asus P5K Premium, Vista, and power saving Motherboards Dec 1, 2008

  3. borisvodofsky

    borisvodofsky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, disable it.
     
  4. coffeejunkee

    coffeejunkee Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that in-depth explanation, boris.

    TS, this EPU is like Asus' own version of Intel's EIST. It adjusts cpu voltage and speed according to load. It's been a while since I read a review about it but the savings were pretty much irrelevant. If I wasn't so lazy I would have tested it already to see if it has improved but since I am it'll have to wait a bit (if ever).

    But likely it's biggest advantage is that it allows the marketing department to put some more fancy stickers on the box.
     
  5. MyCoder

    MyCoder Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, disable

    I do not think would work
     
  6. Hugo Drax

    Hugo Drax Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,481
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why does asus bother to spend resources and HW to build a feature that offers no advantage.
     
  7. bononos

    bononos Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    31
    Probably for the reason you quoted.
     
  8. haaiamerica

    haaiamerica Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    make it as default mode, no need change.
     
  9. Kent_Diego

    Kent_Diego Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I enabled it. Did not hurt anything.
     
  10. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you dont OC i dont see any problem leaving it enabled.
     
  11. TsBPhoenix

    TsBPhoenix Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason when i disable my EPU or move it to a High performance mode or Auto mode mine freezes or just turns off I have no idea why it does this, (any info would be helpfull), but it seems as though EPU is actually keeping my PC working atm
     
  12. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would probably be a useful feature at stock speeds, but it tends to cause issues when overclocking, especially if you are pushing the limits of your chip.
     
  13. Termie

    Termie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    43
    I have found it drops voltage by about .02-.03 volts at both idle and load, which translates to a couple of watts, as measured on my Kill-a-watt. It appears to become disabled when overclocking, however, at least on the newer version. When I used it in the past, I think it would actually cause crashes when overclocking.

    So yes, it has some effect, but for most people it probably isn't worth the trouble, and if you're overclocking, it either won't work or will lead to instability.