Are jeans considered Business Casual?

ViviTheMage

Lifer
Dec 12, 2002
madgenius.com
I am sure it has been spoken of before, but this is my first time asking :). I seem to have a few job options available and most require Business Casual. Current job has no real requirements to what we wear. Thanks all!

ViviTheMage

Lifer
Dec 12, 2002
madgenius.com
Originally posted by: SpunkyJones
Jeans are not business casual. Time to get some khakis! :)

I have dreaded the day I wore khakis like my dad....my old co-worker had a mohawk for crying out loud! That is how much attire was not a big deal around here.

Guess it is time to grow up and be a khaki man.

rivan

Diamond Member
Jul 8, 2003
Originally posted by: Raduque
Business Casual ftl. Stupid dress codes.

Ditto. I've never understood dress codes in offices where you never physically interact with clients.

The only argument FOR them in that situation that ever made any sense was that they encourage a professional atmosphere. To me, it's the people that make it professional, not their clothes.

edit: I'm at work, in jeans and a teeshirt. About one in ten people I work with dress like they're on their way to a punk rock show.

ViviTheMage

Lifer
Dec 12, 2002
madgenius.com
Originally posted by: rivan
Originally posted by: Raduque
Business Casual ftl. Stupid dress codes.

Ditto. I've never understood dress codes in offices where you never physically interact with clients.

The only argument FOR them in that situation that ever made any sense was that they encourage a professional atmosphere. To me, it's the people that make it professional, not their clothes.

only if 'higher ups' thought this!

Raduque

Lifer
Aug 22, 2004
At my old job, which was business casual, there were more people with outrageous hair styles and colors then there are at my current job which only prohibits open-toed shoes and really baggy clothes around the machines which have moving parts. Of course the clean room has a special dress code.