Are gas permeable contact lens any good? Anyone using them?

Techie333

Platinum Member
Jan 20, 2001
I just went to see the eye doctor and he was talking about these new gas permeable contact lens that would be good if I wanted contacts. I have been wearing glasses for like 3 years now and have mild astigmatism so contacts have to be customized for me. What are the advantage/disadvantages of these kind of contacts? Also, what is the price range, generally? Any extra info would be greatly appreciated....

Hoeboy

Banned
Apr 20, 2000
i dont see how mild astigmatism can warrant gas permeable hard lenses. i have really bad astigmatism. so bad that i needed to have my hard lens custom made. and of course custom made = $$$. my pair cost $300 and that is supposed to be at a discount. but if you take care of them, they are suppose to last 3 years.

as for wearing them, it takes a bit to get used to. the first few days you'll see clearer but of course the feeling of having something hard in your eyes is uncomfortable. but after that, you hardly feel them. the only gripe i have is that you better have an extra pair (another $300) in case you lose one of the lens. i know you think you can go back to just wearing glasses temporarily until you get another pair BUT hard lens kind of push your cornea back. once you take off the lens, your cornea won't just spring back into it's original shape so vision can be a little blurry once you take it off.

Vinny N

Platinum Member
Feb 13, 2000
I haven't worn contacts for about two years so I might be out of the loop (switched back to glasses to more easily accomodate unhealthy sleep schedules at college; I had gotten allergic to my contacts by wearing them almost 24/7, this was before the virtually 24/7 contacts came out)...