Any ice hockey goalies out there?

Rhezuss

Diamond Member
Jan 31, 2006
Hey, have some questions about goaltending techniques from a 40 games played newb!!

We have a little morning hockey league at work that started last year. There was a goalie spot so I said "Why not try it" and jumped on the occasion. A co-worker lended me his full equipment last year and I loved the feeling of goaltending!

This year I bought my own equipment so I'm now full autonomous. I even got in another league on monday afternoon!

The only thing...i'm a newb...only kept the gaol for 40 games and I don't have any techniques whatsoever!

What are the basic stuff I should know? Like how to protect my sides when there's people behind the net, how/when to butterfly and how to effectively do it, do you get far from your net when there's a break away or there's action in your zone...stuff like that...

Thanks if you can throw somw tips!

sjwaste

Diamond Member
Aug 2, 2000
Not a goalie, but I can share the following hockey advice: Stretch thoroughly before the game!

You can probably learn quite a bit on youtube, either from demos or game footage. One nice thing about the goalies is that whenever the play is in the offensive zone, they're on TV. So you can watch positioning and such even when they're not making a play on the puck.

Same thing for skaters that want to learn some power play technique.

dfuze

Lifer
Feb 15, 2006
I played deck hockey years ago, but it's probably similar enough. Watch your angles between the shooter and the net behind you to make the smallest space available for them to shoot at.

JohnAn2112

Diamond Member
May 8, 2003
Learn to use the crease to know exactly where you are in relation to the net. Once you learn that, it'll be easy to judge how far out you need to come out of the net to challenge shooters and cut down on the angles.

actuarial

Platinum Member
Jan 22, 2009