AMD Fury X VR Edition + SteamVR

TheProgrammer

Feb 16, 2015
I have a pretty old machine, and no longer run graphically intensive games. But I do game almost on a daily basis. I've been gaming for many, many decades and gameplay footage of games like the new release of Doom (while looking nice) just don't seem appealing to me at this late point in the gaming market.
The only reason I would need to buy a dedicated VPU is for VR because we'll probably see some innovation again there.

The Intel 5775C is enough VPU power for me and what I play (MOBAs, Borderlands2, Defense Grid and Dosbox games), judging from these benchmarks. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i7-5775c-i5-5675c-broadwell,4169-6.html
So I'm planning on building an i7 5775C rig and just using that until SteamVR or Fury X VR arrives.
For VR, I want AMD's async compute shaders which look like a real ace in the hole, and I think dual Fiji (what I'm calling the Fury X VR) on Vulkan will be an amazing experience. 1 VPU per smartphone screen per eye. 4GB HBM per VPU. Gets no better. Hopefully Vulkan removing some of the existing software issues that have always plagued dual VPU solutions.
But I'm failing to see why I would bother with anything other than Intel i7 5775C or stepping up to the AMD Fury X VR.

I'm going to have to try it in person first, but I'm thinking SteamVR + Fury X VR will be like when I bought my Diamond Monster 3D 3dfx Voodoo card all over again but even better. An i7 5775C would be a fine CPU to pair with that.
If I don't go in on SteamVR, Crystalwell will power what I need. No standalone card will ever be purchased again.