AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ compatible with this motherboard?

incinerate55

Jan 24, 2005
My motherboard just died, and I'd like to get a motherboard that is AM3 compatible in case I decide to upgrade in the future. I'm a college student low on cash so i want to keep it < $80. I've talked to ASUS and they said my processor wouldn't work with this motherboard, but I don't see why it shouldn't.

The motherboard in question: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131618

The processor in question: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103749

This is the list of compatible CPUs for the motherboard: http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/...px?type=1&name=M4A77D&SLanguage=en-us&cache=1

If something like the X2 5400+ will work, then why wouldn't the X2 4600+?

Thanks so much for your help,

incinerate55

Farfrumhumpn

Banned
Nov 22, 2009
The short answer is: Yes it will work.

The long answer is: Why in gods name are you asking as the motherboard in question clearly states AM2/AM2+/AM3 compatible when the CPU in question clearly states AM2.

I don't mind helping someone out but cmon man.

incinerate55

Jan 24, 2005
Because the compatible CPU list says no, two ASUS techs said no, and the newegg site doesn't list Athlon 64 X2 as a CPU type as it usually would.

Farfrumhumpn

Banned
Nov 22, 2009
Because the compatible CPU list says no, two ASUS techs said no, and the newegg site doesn't list Athlon 64 X2 as a CPU type as it usually would.

Info on the CPU at the page you provided
NewEgg said:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor 2.4GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail

The only way Asus people would say no is if you were asking them about a socket 939 Toledo 4600+ x2 being compatible with that motherboard which leads me to ask are you 100&#37; sure you have an AM2 4600+ x2 and not a Socket 929 4600+ x2.