Question AMD 590 doing nothing, but usage jumped almost 100 watts ??

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
OK, first AMD card in a while. Linux. It did not say it even needed drivers. But with the old 9800 GTX+ and the CPU maxed , it was taking 162 watts, Now with the 590 in its taking 250-260 watts. As I said DOING NOTHING WITH THE VIDEO CARD. Whats up, and how do I fix it ?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
mark@12700F-linux:~$ sudo echo manual > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_dpm_force_performance_level
bash: /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_dpm_force_performance_level: Permission denied
mark@12700F-linux:~$

Nope, won't work
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
Which distribution? Did you do a clean OS install between NV and AMD cards?
mint 20.3, kernal 5.13. No, I had drivers for nvidia(really old), but when I put the amd card in, it said no drivers required. And the screen looks fine.

BTW, I have never figured out how to wipe out an old linux install, aside from having all the partitions removed. It only want to put the new linux with windows and the old linux or wipe everything.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
5,926
1,305
136
I think you should be able to say "something else" during the Linux install, and manually install Linux to a partition. Not sure if this applies to mint 20.3 though, or if it is a slightly different procedure.
 

Hitman928

Diamond Member
Apr 15, 2012
4,075
4,808
136
I'm not an expert on Linux and I've only swapped from NV to AMD cards a couple of times on Linux, but I've never had a good experience doing so and always ended up having to just install fresh. Unless you were using the open source NV drivers instead of the proprietary ones? Those ones are far less troublesome in terms of uninstall.

Can you post the output you get from this command?

sudo lshw -c video
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
I'm not an expert on Linux and I've only swapped from NV to AMD cards a couple of times on Linux, but I've never had a good experience doing so and always ended up having to just install fresh. Unless you were using the open source NV drivers instead of the proprietary ones? Those ones are far less troublesome in terms of uninstall.

Can you post the output you get from this command?

sudo lshw -c video
mark@12700F-linux:~$ sudo lshw -c video
[sudo] password for mark:
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
logical name: /dev/fb0
version: e1
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom fb
configuration: depth=32 driver=amdgpu latency=0 mode=1920x1080 visual=truecolor xres=1920 yres=1080
resources: iomemory:420-41f iomemory:410-40f irq:169 memory:4200000000-43ffffffff memory:4100000000-41001fffff ioport:8000(size=256) memory:96100000-9613ffff memory:c0000-dffff
mark@12700F-linux:~$
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
Well, nothing suggested works, so I put the nvidia card back in. It seems that AMD + linux = fail.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
Well, its more than that. Maybe something with the Alder lake. Maybe its doing avx-512 again... Going to reboot and enable the e-cores.

More than that... Now its 312 watts.... Going to blow it all away and load windows 10 and linux.
 
Last edited:

Hitman928

Diamond Member
Apr 15, 2012
4,075
4,808
136
Well, nothing suggested works, so I put the nvidia card back in. It seems that AMD + linux = fail.
AMD's Linux support is pretty universally considered the best out of any of the GPU makers. With that said, things can always go wrong, but it seems from your other post that it's something else going on and not the GPU that is the culprit.

Next time you can check the GPU power consumption to see what it's actually consuming.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Krteq and Leeea

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
AMD's Linux support is pretty universally considered the best out of any of the GPU makers. With that said, things can always go wrong, but it seems from your other post that it's something else going on and not the GPU that is the culprit.

Next time you can check the GPU power consumption to see what it's actually consuming.
OK, how do I do that ?? This is an Alder lake system, that could be the culprit.
 

Stuka87

Diamond Member
Dec 10, 2010
5,676
1,487
136
mint 20.3, kernal 5.13. No, I had drivers for nvidia(really old), but when I put the amd card in, it said no drivers required. And the screen looks fine.
Alder Lake support is in 5.18.

That may not fix your issue, and its currently only a release candidate. But Alder Lakes have a lot of issues with older linux kernels.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
Alder Lake support is in 5.18.

That may not fix your issue, and its currently only a release candidate. But Alder Lakes have a lot of issues with older linux kernels.
Thats not available in mint 20.3
 

Krteq

Senior member
May 22, 2015
985
664
136
Mint is Ubuntu based and yes you can install mainline kernels from official Ubuntu repo

Anyway, what are you describing is pretty weird.

You can try to install CoreCtrl (It should be in official repos - not sure about that, I'm on Fedora) and check your GPU utilization, clocks etc.
 
  • Like
Reactions: igor_kavinski

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,893
11,404
136
Mint is Ubuntu based and yes you can install mainline kernels from official Ubuntu repo

Anyway, what are you describing is pretty weird.

You can try to install CoreCtrl (It should be in official repos - not sure about that, I'm on Fedora) and check your GPU utilization, clocks etc.
OK, I am a linux newb. In the update manager, under linux kernals, 5.13 v37 (or something like that) is the most recent you can choose. I put in the old video card, and reinstalled, but with all cores enabled. Now its back to 313 watts.

I should have left the old video card in, and lived with it at 162 watts. Its double that now. But the ETA for my primegrid tasks has gone from 2:20 to 2:00. Not worth double the wattage.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY