Alignment issue -- Installing Win XP 32 bit on a new SSD

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by WhipperSnapper, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. WhipperSnapper

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11,384
    Likes Received:
    14
    Problem is, when I did that using the modified CD without the service packs (only adding the SATA drivers in nlite), it didn't like the CD key either.

    If I try it using just the plain Windows XP Pro CD it freezes after the reboot. (Windows loads up to finish the installation and it freezes.)

    I need some sort of a way to get those SATA drivers in there while using the original Win XP Pro disk.
     
    #26 WhipperSnapper, Jan 7, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  2. WhipperSnapper

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11,384
    Likes Received:
    14
    Whippersnapper's Big XP installation onto SSD Adventure

    What an adventure I've had over the past several days. I wanted to install Windows XP on my new SSD for my desktop. The problem is that the Windows XP installation does not support SATA drives, in which case it freezes up when it goes to do its first reboot (for the Windows screen part of the installation).

    The solution to this problem is to create a "Slipstreamed" installation CD that contains a SATA driver. The only other computer I have at home for this is a Vista laptop. No problemo, right? So I downloaded the NLite program and created one XP installation CD with the SATA drivers in it and one XP installation CD with both the SATA drivers and Service Pack 3 integrated.

    When I went to install on the desktop, the computer did pass the reboot part and started the Windows part of the installation...BUT...when it got to the part where you enter your CD key it claimed that the CD key was invalid!!! That's weird because that CD key has worked before.

    So I researched this problem on the Internet and it turns out that for some retarded reason if you create a slipstreamed installation CD for XP on Vista or Windows 7, when you go to install, the software will claim that your product key is invalid!!!

    Solution? You have to create the slipstream XP CD under XP. If you have Windows 7 you could try to run the NLite program in XP mode. If you have Vista then you need to install a Virtual PC / Virtual Machine that's running XP and do it from within the XP sub-computer.

    First I tried Microsquish's Virtual PC program. After installing Win XP Pro, .Net framework, and NLite I was able to create .ISO files. The problem is that it's very difficult to transfer any of that out of the Virtual PC!!! It recognizes your CD drive, but only as a ROM drive and won't burn. It also won't recognize USB sticks. You can't drag your product files to your host computer's file system either. (I'm sure it's possible to set it up so that you can do some of that stuff, but I don't feel like figuring it out.)

    So, I uninstalled MS's Virtual PC program and went with VMware, which I think is a much nicer program. VMware won't let you burn CDs either without doing a modification, but it will easily let you use USB sticks. So I created my XP installation CD ISOs and folders in VMware and copied to a USB stick. (It's copying right now.) From there I'm going to burn CDs in Vista (one just plain XP with the SATA drivers, the other XP + SP3 with the SATA drivers) and try to get my installation going on the new SSD again.

    Whew! What a big pain-in-the-ass this has been. I guess I've learned a lot about creating custom installation CDs and Virtual PCs.
     
    #27 WhipperSnapper, Jan 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  3. groberts101

    groberts101 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure where your getting this info.. but I have never had to install drivers for any sata drives that I use XP on. Including several brands of SSD's.

    That's definately a new one on me.
     
  4. WhipperSnapper

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11,384
    Likes Received:
    14
    Without the drivers, the installation would immediately freeze after the first reboot.

    I have finally succeeded, but it got hairier. It turns out that you can't slipstream SP3 in because SP3 requires SP2. I tried using a CD with plain XP Pro and the SATA drivers and that one repeatedly froze at the 39 minutes stage. Finally I was able to get an XP Pro with SP2 and SATA drivers disk to work.
     
  5. mattMEDIX

    mattMEDIX Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this and it installed XP on the SSD... the problem is that it made the "system reserved" drive (100mb that W7 creates) my C: and it made the "Local Disk" (where XP is installed) drive D:

    How do I change D to C and still have it boot?

    Advice?
     
  6. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Er not sure on that one. Everything will have been installed with the D : \ paths so changing it to C: \ might cause systemwide carnage. I've missed the step out of removing the 100MB system partition.

    When you create a new partition in the Windows 7 installer and it creates the 100MB system partition and your remaining data partition, delete the data partition. Then extend the 100MB partition into the remaining space. This will then give you a single aligned partition. Exit the installer and install onto that single partition. That will only give you a C drive.

    I don't know how far into your installation you are but it may be easier to re-do it doing the above. Sorry about that.
     
  7. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    1
  8. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,029
    Likes Received:
    267
    Hmm? That isn't true, you can slipstream the SP in, and it works. I have done this hundreds of times.

    It depends on the motherboard, and what controller. I pretty much had to install SATA drivers for pretty much all motherboards, I would also add in video, sound, and NIC, and chipset drivers as well.
    It just really depends on the hardware you got.
     
  9. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,029
    Likes Received:
    267
    That is odd, just go into disk management, on system reserve, tell it to unmount it, and don't assign any letter.
    Then you can assign D to C.
    Though, I am wondering how this all went down.
    I would most likely reinstall, since that could fubar some registry stuff IIRC.