A total noob to buying a first home! MEGA Questions:

Zeze

Lifer
Mar 4, 2011
We finally found a place we really like (in Northern NJ). Let's get to them.

Pros:

1. We saw about 15 places so far. Some terrible houses at 450-520K range so far- some have water damage and shit. This one is a slam dunk in terms of renovation. Everything is sparkling new.

2. In a nice suburban area. Unlike busy streets, the houses on the road are spaced well, and have deeper front lawns, making for a picturesque block (if you do google street view)

3. Nice fully fenced backyard with a good porch space. Well kept.

4. Again, the house is in immaculate shape. Cleanest house we saw out of 15-20.

5. Ridiculously large master bath & finished basement

Cons:

6. This area seem to have shitty school system. Their ratings are 3-5 out of 10 compared to our original area which have 8-9 scores (via zillow)

7. This place is over-renovated and priced highly for it. In other words, the entire block & other blocks nearby, this is the most expensive property at $509K. Along 3-4 avenues, literally other 50-60 properties are all 350K to 425K. I don't think this is good (what about when we have to sell it down the road? this is unlikely our perm home) What are your thoughts?

8. One BR is painfully small. The basement is nicely finished but rather small.

9. Overall, home is bit on a smaller size- very similar to your first home with Shilpy, but it has upstairs with BDs.

10. I'm not 100% happy with the layout. The livingroom with fireplace is a 'dead space' where you can't put a TV in it. The actual expanded entertainment space is rather small, but it's enclosed. No bathroom on first floor. Must go up or down. No big deal i guess, as master BD has its own bath.

11. No central AC- estimate received at 10K.

Other things:

Home has been out on the market for 130 days. New price drop to 509K from 525K- my agent tells me because it was overpriced (see #7), it is still on the market.