A Device Attached to the System is not Functioning

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by ViviTheMage, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. ViviTheMage

    ViviTheMage Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    35,844
    Likes Received:
    1
    For some reason my computer becomes unresponsive after sitting going to standby, but only sometimes, like two-three times a week. The screens go blank, so I try to remote desktop it and it says :

    A Device Attached to the System is not Functioning

    Very odd, any ideas before I reformat? I did just install the OS a few days ago, BUT I did flip the reg from ATA to AHCI and then did so in BIOS, but that never caused it only other test machines i've done this on.
     
  2. Bubbaleone

    Bubbaleone Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    2
    Take a look at the 'Windows Logs' and 'Applications and Services Logs' in Event Viewer. In the Windows Logs look for warnings and errors logged under both Application and System. In the Applications and Services Logs look for warnings and errors logged under both Hardware Events and in the Microsoft directory.

    I agree that the ATA>AHCI Reg hack and BIOS edit shouldn't cause any issues, and the error message that "A Device Attached to the System is not Functioning" is so ambiguous that a look at the Logs may point out exactly which device the error message is refering to.
     
  3. Matt1970

    Matt1970 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would also pull up device manager and see if you have any yellow ! by any devices.
     
  4. ViviTheMage

    ViviTheMage Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    35,844
    Likes Received:
    1
    It just did it again while I was in a meeting ... the screens go blank and act like they're disconnected.

    I got home a few hours later VPN'd in, and remote controlled it, logged int, and that is where I get the device message...and I can only click OK...freaking weird!

    Like I said, fresh format of Win 7 x64 SP1 ISO I got off MS's technet site. The only change is that I added the SSD.

    I dived through windows logs each time, nothing stands out, no drivers missing...It only has an error that it was unexpected shut down (when I hard bounce it to get it back).

    The only oddity I see show up that might be related is :

    EVENT ID 10
    Source WMI
    Level ERROR

    I am trying this to resolve it : http://social.technet.microsoft.com.../thread/6e69f591-99be-433d-8613-bb9912ca64d7/
     
    #4 ViviTheMage, Sep 27, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  5. Bubbaleone

    Bubbaleone Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    2
  6. ViviTheMage

    ViviTheMage Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    35,844
    Likes Received:
    1
    If it happens again, i'll see if the same error follows, even after the fix in that technet I posted.
     
  7. ViviTheMage

    ViviTheMage Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    35,844
    Likes Received:
    1
    It did it again over the weekend, I checked event log and nothing sugnificant shows up from the time I left, to the time I forced shut down and brought it back up...

    grrr
     
  8. ViviTheMage

    ViviTheMage Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    35,844
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I had it happen again. I tried video drivers from Dell's website, since I am running an opitplex 960, and it happened...albeit took an extra day to occur.

    Checking event viewer, still no issues that stand out.

    I thought it was possible misaligned SSD, but it is indeed aligned. I just can't tell if it's software of physical, grr.

    I do have 1 attached mechanical HDD, but that was there prior to the install of the SSD.