• We should now be fully online following an overnight outage. Apologies for any inconvenience, we do not expect there to be any further issues.

A baseball question.

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

shilala

Lifer
Oct 5, 2004
11,437
1
76
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
after seeing the diagram, the runner COULD be out. im not sure what the ruling is on an attempted fielded ball hitting a runner.

but on another note (after seeing the diagram) one thing to keep in mind, if you are returning to first base by turning to the LEFT and returning in fair territory, you CAN be tagged out, even if youve already tagged first. otherwise you are considered to be continuing to run to second base.
This, too, is a common misconception. You are allowed to return to first base in fair territory. You can only be tagged out if you've made an attempt to move to second.
It's a judgement call by the base umpire.
You never have to leave the field of play after passing through the bag. You can even turn towards second base when returning to the bag. You can't gesture towards second, or you're fair game.

 

happybelly

Senior member
Dec 4, 2004
493
0
0
Originally posted by: shilala
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
after seeing the diagram, the runner COULD be out. im not sure what the ruling is on an attempted fielded ball hitting a runner.

but on another note (after seeing the diagram) one thing to keep in mind, if you are returning to first base by turning to the LEFT and returning in fair territory, you CAN be tagged out, even if youve already tagged first. otherwise you are considered to be continuing to run to second base.
This, too, is a common misconception. You are allowed to return to first base in fair territory. You can only be tagged out if you've made an attempt to move to second.
It's a judgement call by the base umpire.
You never have to leave the field of play after passing through the bag. You can even turn towards second base when returning to the bag. You can't gesture towards second, or you're fair game.


True. It's probably best to turn right though.
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
I think it works like this:

If a runner is hit by a line drive, he's out.
If he's hit while on the base he cannot advance to the next base.

But in this case the play was already dead. He was safe at first and stepped on the ball after he overran the base. I'd say he's safe and can't advance to 2nd.
 

aplefka

Lifer
Feb 29, 2004
12,014
2
0
Originally posted by: ThePresence
I think it works like this:

If a runner is hit by a line drive, he's out.
If he's hit while on the base he cannot advance to the next base.

But in this case the play was already dead. He was safe at first and stepped on the ball after he overran the base. I'd say he's safe and can't advance to 2nd.

Looks like he turned left instead of right after running through the base though, which complicates things. Why is the play dead just because the first baseman drops the ball? Plays aren't dead after errors are committed.

I'm gonna say that if he's not out then you're right.
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
Originally posted by: aplefka
Originally posted by: ThePresence
I think it works like this:

If a runner is hit by a line drive, he's out.
If he's hit while on the base he cannot advance to the next base.

But in this case the play was already dead. He was safe at first and stepped on the ball after he overran the base. I'd say he's safe and can't advance to 2nd.

Looks like he turned left instead of right after running through the base though, which complicates things. Why is the play dead just because the first baseman drops the ball? Plays aren't dead after errors are committed.

I'm gonna say that if he's not out then you're right.

True, you can advance after an error, but not in this case. He stepped on the ball so he can't advance. I said the play is dead because you can overrun 1st base without being tagged out. Maybe "dead" is the wrong word.
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
Originally posted by: shilala
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
after seeing the diagram, the runner COULD be out. im not sure what the ruling is on an attempted fielded ball hitting a runner.

but on another note (after seeing the diagram) one thing to keep in mind, if you are returning to first base by turning to the LEFT and returning in fair territory, you CAN be tagged out, even if youve already tagged first. otherwise you are considered to be continuing to run to second base.
This, too, is a common misconception. You are allowed to return to first base in fair territory. You can only be tagged out if you've made an attempt to move to second.
It's a judgement call by the base umpire.
You never have to leave the field of play after passing through the bag. You can even turn towards second base when returning to the bag. You can't gesture towards second, or you're fair game.

good point. i think its tough to argue what is and isnt an intent to go to second tho. but like you said, its a judgement call by the umpire.
 

ZowieHowie

Diamond Member
Sep 23, 2002
3,948
0
76
I think the key to this play is the fact that the runner did not turn into foul territory. When running out a ground ball, it is always taught to run THROUGH the bag, and then into foul territory. As an example, if a ball is hit to the outfield, and the runner runs through first, and turns to the left (toward 2nd), he can be tagged out. If he turns into foul ground, he can walk back to first and be safe.

I would think he is out, unless the play was called dead.
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
Originally posted by: ZowieHowie
I think the key to this play is the fact that the runner did not turn into foul territory. When running out a ground ball, it is always taught to run THROUGH the bag, and then into foul territory. As an example, if a ball is hit to the outfield, and the runner runs through first, and turns to the left (toward 2nd), he can be tagged out. If he turns into foul ground, he can walk back to first and be safe.

I would think he is out, unless the play was called dead.

See shilala's post above. You DO NOT have to run into foul territory, you just can't move/motion towards 2nd.
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
Originally posted by: ThePresence
Originally posted by: ZowieHowie
I think the key to this play is the fact that the runner did not turn into foul territory. When running out a ground ball, it is always taught to run THROUGH the bag, and then into foul territory. As an example, if a ball is hit to the outfield, and the runner runs through first, and turns to the left (toward 2nd), he can be tagged out. If he turns into foul ground, he can walk back to first and be safe.

I would think he is out, unless the play was called dead.

See shilala's post above. You DO NOT have to run into foul territory, you just can't move/motion towards 2nd.


did anyone ever find an official rule on this?
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
From the Offical Rules regarding the question of the OP:
If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference. PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.
 

kcthomas

Senior member
Aug 23, 2004
335
0
0
a runner is out if hit by a batted ball only if they interfere with a fielder making a play. if the runner runs in front of the fielder and gets hit by the ball while the fielder is waiting to field it, he is out. if the runner runs behind the fielder and the ball goes through the fielder's legs then hits the runner, the runner is safe.

in this case i would call the runner safe. the ball can hit the runner, this happens all the time (like in a pickle or something). if the runner would have kicked the ball or something he might be out for interference (see a-rod in the playoffs last year)