A baseball question.

shilala

Lifer
Oct 5, 2004
11,437
1
76
I saw this happen in a Little League game yesterday.
It went like this...
Batter grounds ball to second. Second baseman fields ball and throws to first. First baseman commits an error. The ball comes off the tip of his glove and lands in fair territory about 8 feet up the right field line.
The runner, while returning to first base steps on the ball.
Is the runner safe? Out?
I never saw it happen before, but I'm pretty certain of the ruling.
Edit:
The runner merely advanced through the 1st base bag (up the right field line) as normal.
On returning to the base, he crossed into fair territory where the ball was lying and stepped on the ball.
This needs a diagram. Coming right up...
Piss-poor visual aid
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
Originally posted by: shilala
I saw this happen in a Little League game yesterday.
It went like this...
Batter grounds ball to second. Second baseman fields ball and throws to first. First baseman commits an error. The ball comes off the tip of his glove and lands in fair territory about 8 feet up the right field line.
The runner, while returning to first base steps on the ball.
Is the runner safe? Out?
I never saw it happen before, but I'm pretty certain of the ruling.


ball is still in fair territory and live, i believe he would still be out. only thing that might make a difference is if the runner made a turn inside the foul like to walk back to the base and stepped on the ball. i believe he still may be out tho.
 

RagingBITCH

Lifer
Sep 27, 2003
17,618
2
76
Safe. Otherwise you could throw the ball at a runner and tag them out. I think the other has to have the ball in their posession and physically tag the baserunner out for it to be considered an out.
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
It makes no difference if the ball is in fair territory or not. Once it hit the glove, it's a live ball no matter where it lands (unless it was first touched in foul territory).
 

NikPreviousAcct

No Lifer
Aug 15, 2000
52,763
1
0
The runner is safe. He's also a moron. He's 8 feet down the base line?! He's getting damn closed to "out of the base path" and being called out. Anyhow, for a runner to be out, he either has to be tagged by someone who has the ball and tagged with the hand holding the ball or the base he's being forced to run to be tagged.

If you're holding the ball in the left hand and touch the runner with your right hand, the runner is still safe. You've got to take them with the hand holding the ball. If the ball were laying on the ground and the runner touches it, or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.
 

NikPreviousAcct

No Lifer
Aug 15, 2000
52,763
1
0
Originally posted by: ThePresence
It makes no difference if the ball is in fair territory or not. Once it hit the glove, it's a live ball no matter where it lands.

Yes, but the ball is on the ground when the runner touches it (steps on the ball in the OP). The runner is still safe.
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: ThePresence
It makes no difference if the ball is in fair territory or not. Once it hit the glove, it's a live ball no matter where it lands.

Yes, but the ball is on the ground when the runner touches it (steps on the ball in the OP). The runner is still safe.

I didn't say if he's safe or not, I was just commenting on the Original Post.
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

i am wondering however that since this ball was fielded, and the runner was not hit by a line drive, he would be safe, as the previous poster was correct, you cant just peg a runner with a ball and be called out. so maybe if the ball is fielded, the runner cannot be out by coming into contact with the ball?
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
Originally posted by: Nik
The original post was asking if the runner is out or not :confused:

Batter grounds ball to second. Second baseman fields ball and throws to first. First baseman commits an error. The ball comes off the tip of his glove and lands in fair territory about 8 feet up the right field line.
I'm commenting on the bolded part. It doesn't matter if it landed in fair or foul territory, it's still a live ball.
 

Sukhoi

Elite Member
Dec 5, 1999
15,350
106
106
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Correct. That is why runners lead off from 3rd in foul territory.
 

NikPreviousAcct

No Lifer
Aug 15, 2000
52,763
1
0
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Wrong. The runner is not out. Have you ever seen a line drive? Have you ever seen pitchers get tagged by line drives because the ball is moving too fast to react and catch it?

I'm looking up the rules on mlb.com and I don't see any rule that says the runner is out if he's hit by a needlepoint.
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Wrong. The runner is not out. Have you ever seen a line drive? Have you ever seen pitchers get tagged by line drives because the ball is moving too fast to react and catch it?

what does a pitcher getting hit by a line drive have ANYTHING to do with RUNNERS getting hit by line drives?

i dont believe it has to be a line drive either. a dribble in fair play hits you, you are out.
 

NikPreviousAcct

No Lifer
Aug 15, 2000
52,763
1
0
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Wrong. The runner is not out. Have you ever seen a line drive? Have you ever seen pitchers get tagged by line drives because the ball is moving too fast to react and catch it?

what does a pitcher getting hit by a line drive have ANYTHING to do with RUNNERS getting hit by line drives?

i dont believe it has to be a line drive either. a dribble in fair play hits you, you are out.

A line drive is very very hard to dodge. A runner getting hit by a line drive wouldn't be considered interference like it would if he, say, slapped the ball out of a baseman's glove or something. It's just... extremely hard to dodge. It's considered an "obstruction" in which case the runner's automatically awarded the next base.
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
after seeing the diagram, the runner COULD be out. im not sure what the ruling is on an attempted fielded ball hitting a runner.

but on another note (after seeing the diagram) one thing to keep in mind, if you are returning to first base by turning to the LEFT and returning in fair territory, you CAN be tagged out, even if youve already tagged first. otherwise you are considered to be continuing to run to second base.
 

95SS

Golden Member
Nov 30, 2003
1,630
0
76
I'm not sure, but I would say safe. I know a runner is out if hit by a batted ball, but if a throw hits a runner, he is not out. It would be interesting to see an official rule on this.
 

minime72706

Member
Sep 7, 2004
86
0
0
The runner would be safe, the rule is about being hit by a batted ball, after its fielded it doesn't matter. If the runner kicked it away, or prevented a fielder from getting it he would be out on interference. In a little league game its nothing, but in the majors he may be called on interferance.

7.08f
He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance.
 

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
27,727
16
81
He was already safe, you can overrun first base, the play was over. The real question would be if he was safe or out if he tried to advance to 2nd after stepping on the ball, or if he had stepped on the ball before getting to first.
 

shilala

Lifer
Oct 5, 2004
11,437
1
76
Originally posted by: Sukhoi
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Correct. That is why runners lead off from 3rd in foul territory.
Correct. That is why runners lead off from 3rd in foul territory.[/quote]
Absolutely. My brother-in-law made the same point about batted balls.
Change the location of this play and it becomes clearer.
Imagine the runner going from first to second. The second baseman boots the ball and the ball touches the runner. The runner is safe. It's no longer a batted ball once the defense touches the ball.

 

NakaNaka

Diamond Member
Aug 29, 2000
6,304
1
0
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Wrong. The runner is not out. Have you ever seen a line drive? Have you ever seen pitchers get tagged by line drives because the ball is moving too fast to react and catch it?

I'm looking up the rules on mlb.com and I don't see any rule that says the runner is out if he's hit by a needlepoint.

Dude you don't know what you are talking about. Fielders can get hit by balls. Runners can't.
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Wrong. The runner is not out. Have you ever seen a line drive? Have you ever seen pitchers get tagged by line drives because the ball is moving too fast to react and catch it?

what does a pitcher getting hit by a line drive have ANYTHING to do with RUNNERS getting hit by line drives?

i dont believe it has to be a line drive either. a dribble in fair play hits you, you are out.

A line drive is very very hard to dodge. A runner getting hit by a line drive wouldn't be considered interference like it would if he, say, slapped the ball out of a baseman's glove or something. It's just... extremely hard to dodge. It's considered an "obstruction" in which case the runner's automatically awarded the next base.

a pitcher is there to FIELD the ball, so whatever happens with it when it comes to him, in any fashion, he can do whatever he wants with it. he is never considered to be interfering with the play.

we are talking about an OFFENSIVE player getting hit by a batted ball.

you are hit by the ball = you are out. (except when batting obviously)
 

shilala

Lifer
Oct 5, 2004
11,437
1
76
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Wrong. The runner is not out. Have you ever seen a line drive? Have you ever seen pitchers get tagged by line drives because the ball is moving too fast to react and catch it?

I'm looking up the rules on mlb.com and I don't see any rule that says the runner is out if he's hit by a needlepoint.

He's out whether the ball is lined or grounded. It's interference by the runner. If the ball is lined back to the pitcher, he touches it (or it hits him) then touches the runner, the runner is safe.
 

PcktRcktsAA

Senior member
Dec 5, 2003
283
0
0
Originally posted by: shilala
Originally posted by: Sukhoi
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Correct. That is why runners lead off from 3rd in foul territory.
Correct. That is why runners lead off from 3rd in foul territory.
Absolutely. My brother-in-law made the same point about batted balls.
Change the location of this play and it becomes clearer.
Imagine the runner going from first to second. The second baseman boots the ball and the ball touches the runner. The runner is safe. It's no longer a batted ball once the defense touches the ball.

[/quote]

there, i believe that is our answer. ive never seen it posed after its been fielded however. hence the confusion.

so what happened to the runner anyways? my only concern at this point is that he was returning to the base in fair territory, so he is still an 'active' runner.

itd be like over running second base and then trying to get back before being tagged.
so therefore maybe it was considered interference at this point, rather than an incidental occurance.
 

aplefka

Lifer
Feb 29, 2004
12,014
2
0
Originally posted by: Nik
Originally posted by: PcktRcktsAA
Originally posted by: Nik
or in some cases the base runner gets tagged by a line drive, the runner is still in the game.

wrong. if a runner gets hit by a line drive while running the bases he is out. you have to be careful so as to get out of the way of line drives when running the bases so this doesnt happen.

Wrong. The runner is not out. Have you ever seen a line drive? Have you ever seen pitchers get tagged by line drives because the ball is moving too fast to react and catch it?

I'm looking up the rules on mlb.com and I don't see any rule that says the runner is out if he's hit by a needlepoint.

Runner is out if he's hit by the ball. That's why you freeze on a line drive and why you have to make sure not to get hit by the ball if it's a grounder.