512MB PC2100 DDR $69.99 @ Outpost.com - 1 yr warranty

Quickfingerz

Diamond Member
Jan 18, 2000
3,176
0
0
I still say wait longer. Ram prices will get lower than they have ever been within a few weeks. HOT DEAL nonetheless although I don't trust OEM brands at Fry's.
 

Loricariidae

Senior member
Oct 22, 2001
280
0
0
The OEM at Fry's are pretty heinous - a friend picked up a 512 MB stick of DDR2700, manufactured by Lai, that wasn't even able to do above 140 FSB.
 

SpaceHulk

Senior member
Mar 26, 2002
818
0
0
That's a fine price none the less. If it doesn't run at stock speeds send it back. Don't expect to O/C this stuff though.
 

LordThing

Golden Member
Jun 8, 2001
1,970
0
0
Thank god I don't have my stash of cash yet...or I would jump on this. But I hope....HOPE, some decent Crucial or Kingston ram will drop to this level and I can get my rig back up to 512.
 

Johnbear007

Diamond Member
Jul 1, 2002
4,570
0
0
You guys really think that within a few weeks you will be able to get 512 MB of DDR of a decent brand for 69$ ? I don't mean 2 256mb sticks, that is a bunch of BS....
 

Tot

Senior member
Jan 24, 2000
727
0
0
I difinately am holding out for that. Making it possible to get me a SFF for only 750, with 1700XP, 512 ddram, SN41G, and using my extra 120 gb harddisk, and extra cdrw drive. Yippee.
 

RobsTV

Platinum Member
Feb 11, 2000
2,520
0
0
Originally posted by: Johnbear007
You guys really think that within a few weeks you will be able to get 512 MB of DDR of a decent brand for 69$ ? I don't mean 2 256mb sticks, that is a bunch of BS....

Wouldn't it be better to run 2 sticks instead of one, since many newer boards can use dual channel, and get a decent performance
gain over single sticks? Still end up with 512 total, which is plenty, but running 2 sticks will be faster, and more future proof if you
don't have a dual channel board yet. In fact, without 2 sticks, or Dual Channel DDR, modern boards like nForce2 run no faster than
KT333/400 boards.
 

Nitetrain

Member
Jul 9, 2002
127
2
81
"Wouldn't it be better to run 2 sticks instead of one, since many newer boards can use dual channel, and get a decent performance gain over single sticks? Still end up with 512 total, which is plenty, but running 2 sticks will be faster, and more future proof if you don't have a dual channel board yet. "

People can generally overclock higher with a single stick of Ram over two or more sticks.

 

RobsTV

Platinum Member
Feb 11, 2000
2,520
0
0
Originally posted by: Nitetrain
"Wouldn't it be better to run 2 sticks instead of one, since many newer boards can use dual channel, and get a decent performance gain over single sticks? Still end up with 512 total, which is plenty, but running 2 sticks will be faster, and more future proof if you don't have a dual channel board yet. "

People can generally overclock higher with a single stick of Ram over two or more sticks.

So it's a toss up?
Looking at every review, there is a big performance hit with nForce2 boards when running only 1 stick. (drops down to KT333/400 speeds).

Quote from Toms Hardware:
"Our benchmarks underlined the fact that nForce2 is currently the best chipset to take.
Sure, you will need to get two DIMMs, but the performance gap to KT400 is quite significant."

To get the same performance with 1 stick that 2 sticks provide, you must overclock.
However, in Epox forum, I have seen no such problems of overclocking when using 2 sticks.

here is a quote from a post at Amdmb.com Epox forums:
"highest fsb at 5,2,2,2 on 8RDA with corsair pc3200c2 dual channel!!
Im at 214mhz dual right now 2.9v anyone get further. well I really have one pc3500c2 and one pc3200c2"

Also, all reviews that include overclocking capabilities show no such issues with 2 stick in Epox board.
Dual Channel doesn't really show it's stuff "Until" you overclock by raising the FSB to highest possibilities.
So overclocking and 2 sticks in a Dual Channel board go hand in hand.

Perhaps with the wrong board, one stick may be better?
But then you MUST overclock to get comparable speed to 2 stick setup.

But then again, if you are into overclocking, you would get the Epox anyway, as it's the best overclocker,
and 2 sticks overclock fine with Epox.

Only reason I mention all this is because Johnbear007 wrote:
" I don't mean 2 256mb sticks, that is a bunch of BS...."
And nothing could be farther from the truth. 2 sticks are what you WANT to get.
 

DTBH

Senior member
Apr 14, 2001
652
0
0
512mb for 69.99 is dirt cheap. But still buying oem ram is always a risk.
 

LordThing

Golden Member
Jun 8, 2001
1,970
0
0
My second problem with this deal is I bought some open market grade sticks last price drop and have had nothing but errors with them. So, i am a bit leary of getting generic ram. But still a non-issue if i don't have the funds to blow right now anyway. :p
 

Quickfingerz

Diamond Member
Jan 18, 2000
3,176
0
0
the last time i bought ram from outpost i had problems. for a while i thought it was motherboard or hard drive but once i figured it was the ram, the 30 day return had already passed.
 

SpaceHulk

Senior member
Mar 26, 2002
818
0
0
I've seen alot of folks with lower grade PSU's have trouble with two sticks of RAM; but run fine with a single stick. - Just another arguement for single stick.
 

Johnbear007

Diamond Member
Jul 1, 2002
4,570
0
0
Originally posted by: RobsTV
Originally posted by: Johnbear007
You guys really think that within a few weeks you will be able to get 512 MB of DDR of a decent brand for 69$ ? I don't mean 2 256mb sticks, that is a bunch of BS....

Wouldn't it be better to run 2 sticks instead of one, since many newer boards can use dual channel, and get a decent performance
gain over single sticks? Still end up with 512 total, which is plenty, but running 2 sticks will be faster, and more future proof if you
don't have a dual channel board yet. In fact, without 2 sticks, or Dual Channel DDR, modern boards like nForce2 run no faster than
KT333/400 boards.

Yeah, but I would rather have the 512 and get another 512 later. I am not upgrading any time soon. I have a k7s5a with an athlon xp 1700+ I only have 2 slots and I want to put DDR on it. When I upgrade the board will be inhereited by my wife so i'm not goign to take the DDR with me so the whole 2 channel thing is just a moot point
 

Johnbear007

Diamond Member
Jul 1, 2002
4,570
0
0
Originally posted by: RobsTV
Originally posted by: Nitetrain
"Wouldn't it be better to run 2 sticks instead of one, since many newer boards can use dual channel, and get a decent performance gain over single sticks? Still end up with 512 total, which is plenty, but running 2 sticks will be faster, and more future proof if you don't have a dual channel board yet. "

People can generally overclock higher with a single stick of Ram over two or more sticks.

So it's a toss up?
Looking at every review, there is a big performance hit with nForce2 boards when running only 1 stick. (drops down to KT333/400 speeds).

Quote from Toms Hardware:
"Our benchmarks underlined the fact that nForce2 is currently the best chipset to take.
Sure, you will need to get two DIMMs, but the performance gap to KT400 is quite significant."

To get the same performance with 1 stick that 2 sticks provide, you must overclock.
However, in Epox forum, I have seen no such problems of overclocking when using 2 sticks.

here is a quote from a post at Amdmb.com Epox forums:
"highest fsb at 5,2,2,2 on 8RDA with corsair pc3200c2 dual channel!!
Im at 214mhz dual right now 2.9v anyone get further. well I really have one pc3500c2 and one pc3200c2"

Also, all reviews that include overclocking capabilities show no such issues with 2 stick in Epox board.
Dual Channel doesn't really show it's stuff "Until" you overclock by raising the FSB to highest possibilities.
So overclocking and 2 sticks in a Dual Channel board go hand in hand.

Perhaps with the wrong board, one stick may be better?
But then you MUST overclock to get comparable speed to 2 stick setup.

But then again, if you are into overclocking, you would get the Epox anyway, as it's the best overclocker,
and 2 sticks overclock fine with Epox.

Only reason I mention all this is because Johnbear007 wrote:
" I don't mean 2 256mb sticks, that is a bunch of BS...."
And nothing could be farther from the truth. 2 sticks are what you WANT to get.


Besides for dual channle not mattering to me... 256mb is getting small, especially if you don't have a ton of memory slots, some boards only have 2. I would rather take the slight speed hit and get another stick of 512 later... or both at once... I;m done buying anything smaller than 512
 

Scottee

Member
Aug 25, 2002
156
0
0
I think it's still hot since there are still a lot of people who don't overclock, and there's only one deal that I can think of currently for a 256mb stick of ddram for under $40.
 

Mallow

Diamond Member
Jul 25, 2001
6,108
1
0
I use OEM RAM from fry's in my budget systems sometimes. I haven't had a problem yet but it's not like I use in high bulk quantity :/
 

jcuadrado

Diamond Member
Oct 26, 1999
3,300
0
76
Originally posted by: RobsTV
Originally posted by: Johnbear007
You guys really think that within a few weeks you will be able to get 512 MB of DDR of a decent brand for 69$ ? I don't mean 2 256mb sticks, that is a bunch of BS....

Wouldn't it be better to run 2 sticks instead of one, since many newer boards can use dual channel, and get a decent performance
gain over single sticks? Still end up with 512 total, which is plenty, but running 2 sticks will be faster, and more future proof if you
don't have a dual channel board yet. In fact, without 2 sticks, or Dual Channel DDR, modern boards like nForce2 run no faster than
KT333/400 boards.

how bout 2 sticks of 512?
 

Johnbear007

Diamond Member
Jul 1, 2002
4,570
0
0
Originally posted by: Scottee
I think it's still hot since there are still a lot of people who don't overclock, and there's only one deal that I can think of currently for a 256mb stick of ddram for under $40.

Yeah, I dont overclock at all.... I don't see the point anymore.. . back in the days of the 400a or the 366@550 that was a big deal.. but nowadays it doesnt have teh same umph
 

DynaGlide

Junior Member
Jan 20, 2003
20
0
0
Maybe a little O/T, but hey, this is fun.

To those of you who are expecting a drop in memory prices, I think that your wait will be rewarded. Why? Because Microsoft is about to ship a new operating system, Windows Server 2003. As far back as Windows 95, whenever M/S ships a new O/S, memory prices drop.

To illustrate the most dramatic example, in '94 memory was selling for as high as $100.00 per meg (yes, PER MEG!). Of course, we were all running Intel/AMD 80286-12s or, if we were lucky, the fancy new 80386 processor, and running Windows 3.1/3.11 on all of 2 meg of 120ns RAM, sometimes, 4 meg, but rarely more.

So, along comes Windows 95. We've got 2/4 meg machines, and we find out that we'll need 8 meg, preferably 16, to run '95. How many copies of Win95 would M/S have sold if the guy in the Blue Shirt at BB had smiled, handed us our copy of Win95 ($89.00), then mentioned that we'd need $1600.00 worth of memory to make it run!?

Mysteriously, RAM prices drop to less than $50.00/meg just prior to the release date, then fall as far as $10.00/meg not long after. Suddenly, we can all afford decent performance from Win95, M/S sells beau coup copies, the rest is history. (Can you say OS/2? I knew you could!)

Mark my words, just prior to the release of Windows 2003 in April (?), RAM prices will drop again. As this is a server O/S, probably not as dramatically as when Win95/98/ME/XP shipped, but certainly some.

How does this work? Don't know, but there are forces at work in the market place that leaves me wondering just who controls the international memory market. Look to a large German entity who I shall refrain from naming. They've been known to dump massive amounts of RAM into the Pacific Rim market just prior to M/S shipping a new O/S. Hummm.

EDIT - Edits to Correct Spelling Errors so I Don't Embarass Myself Too Badly - EDIT
 

edplayer

Platinum Member
Sep 13, 2002
2,186
0
0
Originally posted by: Johnbear007
Originally posted by: Scottee
I think it's still hot since there are still a lot of people who don't overclock, and there's only one deal that I can think of currently for a 256mb stick of ddram for under $40.

Yeah, I dont overclock at all.... I don't see the point anymore.. . back in the days of the 400a or the 366@550 that was a big deal.. but nowadays it doesnt have teh same umph

Those were chips made on a mature process. You can buy a 1700+ Tbred B for $47. Some people are getting 2 to 2.2 GHz. Plus that chips is 133fsb stock. Some people are getting up to 220.

Looks to me like its just as good (maybe even better)!

 

bjamm2

Senior member
Dec 29, 2002
742
0
76
newegg has some 256mb Crucial pc2100 for $50 bucks shipped. Not too bad of a deal for that either!