2000 Taurus alternator problem?

QueBert

Lifer
Jan 6, 2002
I have basic car knowledge so I'm kind of clueless here, last night I drove my car a few blocks to 7-11 and back. Pulling out of 7-11 I noticed my battery light blinked quickly right after I started my car. When I got back home before I was able to get into my spot, the ABS/airbag lights came on, the dash dimmed and the headlights went out completely, the car did not stall though.

I made it to my parking spot and shut it off, figuring it wouldn't turn back I tried anyways, I got the click but the engine didn't try to turn over at all. When I got out my headlights were back on and looked to be normal brightness. Tried this morning and it started normally, wasn't about to drive it to see what was going on as after last night I know there's a problem.

Now I'm assuming it's the alternator, seems like an easy diagnosis. Right now I'm about 100 miles from home and my mechanic's there. Here is my question, I've heard 2 different stories from 2 different mechanics on this. One has told me if your alternator is bad and you put in a battery that has been deep charged you can pretty easily drive even a few hundred miles so long as you don't use radio/power windows and such. Another had said "no way" I'm inclined to believe the first because he seems to be very knowledgeable.

My delimma is I don't have the cash to get it fixed here so that's not an option. But, breaking down and having to be towed would end up costing me as much as the alternator, plus I'd still have to get the alternator fixed (unless it happens to be something else) So my hoping is I can take the battery to Pep Boys and have them test it, if it's bad I get a free replacement, if it's not it will be deep charged. Would a deep charge be enough to get me about 100 miles? I haven't ruled out a bad battery but if that was the case I think it should have died last night before I turned it off and wouldn't have started normal this morning.