144hz refresh question

elkido122

Jan 10, 2015
i have an acer monitor that supports 144hz refresh rate. It only has a dual link dvi input though. Will dual link be ok for 144hz refresh and 144fps and or above on the fps side?? this is at 1080p thanks

legcramp

Golden Member
May 31, 2005
It should be fine if it's the only input for that monitor and it's rated for 144hz.

akmaggot666

Apr 14, 2013
what if my fps is over 144? still ok ?
I am a noob, but I research quiet a lot.
edit:

anything above or below the refresh rate of ur monitor can cause screen tearing, so if u have 60Hz monitor u want ur fps at 60 stable, with 144Hz it occurs less and is less noticable but u still want it at 144Hz. Vsync is supposed to lock ur fps to ur screens refresh rate.
but it's obviously wont work right if u have 144Hz monitor and rig that can't reach 144fps, same with 60.
where, amd freesync and gsync work from 30-144Hz, so u should get less stutter even at lower fps

now, how better gsync is than amd freesync, and if both of those give better "something" than vsync if u have 144Hz and 144fps+, no idea, and hard to find answers to those, if u find any let me know about it.

for more about freesync and gsync..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Ey-KObDABI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fghQh0Y4oA4

also the input lag from mouse/keyboard is different with gsync and amd freesync with vsync on and off
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MzHxhjcE0eQ
and weird results ;D
but that's a older vid, reading further forums from older to newer, apparently ppl realized that capping a bit lower fps than actual framerate of monitor caused less input lag with G-sync, and apparently newer gpu's lock ur frame rate to 143.something if ur monitor is 144Hz for example, I will find that soon enough when I get my new monitor and gpu

nvidias gsync vid
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oT8f_1oRsLU

here they show that
vsync off causes tearing
vsync on causes stuttering
and that gsync is perfect