• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."
  • Community Question: What makes a good motherboard?

Zhaoxin's ZX-F/KX-7000/KH-40000

Page 10 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
16,654
5,671
136
On to Kunpeng 920 8c/8t:


It does the bmw27 scene in Blender in 707s. Compare this to the 1349s of the KX-A6780U. Of course, the Kunpeng 920 has problems with software availability, but still . . .
 

NTMBK

Diamond Member
Nov 14, 2011
8,907
1,981
136
On to Kunpeng 920 8c/8t:


It does the bmw27 scene in Blender in 707s. Compare this to the 1349s of the KX-A6780U. Of course, the Kunpeng 920 has problems with software availability, but still . . .
It also has problems with TSMC cutting off Huawei!
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
16,654
5,671
136
It also has problems with TSMC cutting off Huawei!
Have they really cut them off entirely? I thought the next generation Kirin chips will eventually be on TSMC 5nm. Kirin 990 stayed on TSMC N7 if I recall correctly, for a variety of reasons (unlike Snapdragon 865), but then things are fluid and they are a-changin

Regardless, a fairly basic ARM design using cores weaker than A76 (Taishan v110, in this case) seems to be able to beat Zhaoxin's current release on a core-per-core basis.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NTMBK

Kosusko

Member
Nov 10, 2019
89
55
51
In twenty years, I've never had problems with artifacts with VIA CPUs. It has always been a problem of GPU resp. GPU drivers.
It is not clear to me what the Dr. wanted to say with this video.

I aked two user KX-U6780A

Loeschzwerg;12377806 said:
Looks like a driver issue to me. I didn't have any troubles so far, but I'm currently using an old GTX745 (upgrade to a GTX 1660S is planned soon).
source: https://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=12377806&postcount=615
y33H@;12377871 said:





But anyway

 
Last edited:

ThatBuzzkiller

Golden Member
Nov 14, 2014
1,002
153
106
I think I know what's holding up Zhaoxin from releasing new hardware. TSMC won't manufacture for them anymore so I guess their only option is SMIC. We can expect to see a CPU release from them in 2021 which will coincide with the availability of SMIC's new N+1 process ...

5nm will be tricky for SMIC since they can't acquire any EUV scanner but I guess we'll see a domestic solution in the next 5 years ...
 

Kosusko

Member
Nov 10, 2019
89
55
51
It took 1349s to render the BMW Blender scene on the KX-U6780a. Classroom took 4274s. Oh my goodness. It beat an old AMD 7870k in CBR20 MT though! Lost badly in ST, but still . . . that's something, right?


But it can always be worse ... It took 2316s to render the BMW Blender scene on the Intel Core i5-L16G7. Classroom took 7918s. o_O

source: https://www.hardwareluxx.de/index.php/artikel/hardware/prozessoren/53744-lakefield-im-test-core-i5-l16g7-mit-fuenf-kernen-muss-zeigen-was-er-kann.html?start=1

I know 5W vs 70W. But a graph is a graph. :p
 
Last edited:

Thala

Golden Member
Nov 12, 2014
1,128
441
136
For reference, it takes 1151s for the BMW Blender scene on Surface Pro X (Cortex A76).
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,903
9,088
136
Just for the fun of it, I tried it on my STOCK 3900x, and it was 67 seconds for the bmw scene. Thats a 142 watt cpu.

I don;t own anything slow enough to compare to a 5 or 70 watt cpu. Even at half my cores/half strength thats 132 seconds.
 
  • Like
Reactions: amd6502

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
16,654
5,671
136
@Thala

Is there any throttling from thermal restrictions in that platform? I'm assuming the KX-u6780a doesn't have that problem.
 

Thala

Golden Member
Nov 12, 2014
1,128
441
136
@Thala

Is there any throttling from thermal restrictions in that platform? I'm assuming the KX-u6780a doesn't have that problem.
As long as you are using only the 8 cores, i have never observed any throttling with the Surface Pro X. In fact the device stays such cool, i would estimate the SoC power not anywhere close to 7W. The device does get warmer when gaming.
 

Kosusko

Member
Nov 10, 2019
89
55
51
Who cares about comparing ARM vs x86? That it will release a few benchmarks and especially applications on it?
We are talking about x86 processors and primary compatibility for office computers and multimedia use in forms, state administration and self-government or households where applications are continuously used and compatibility must be 99.8% ensured.

P.S. but yes great result for ARM (Cortex A76) in Blender , but they are still different worlds ...
 

NTMBK

Diamond Member
Nov 14, 2011
8,907
1,981
136
Who cares about comparing ARM vs x86? That it will release a few benchmarks and especially applications on it?
We are talking about x86 processors and primary compatibility for office computers and multimedia use in forms, state administration and self-government or households where applications are continuously used and compatibility must be 99.8% ensured.

P.S. but yes great result for ARM (Cortex A76) in Blender , but they are still different worlds ...
Windows runs on ARM, Linux runs on ARM, MacOS runs on ARM. I honestly see more likelihood that the PROC runs their government computers on Huawei ARM chips than on these poor x86 ones. (Even if Huawei are now barred from using TSMC, they can use the Chinese fabs.)

And I don't think anyone outside the PROC would seriously consider these chips. They are just awful compared to Intel and AMD.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
16,654
5,671
136
Who cares about comparing ARM vs x86?
See below.

I honestly see more likelihood that the PROC runs their government computers on Huawei ARM chips than on these poor x86 ones. (Even if Huawei are now barred from using TSMC, they can use the Chinese fabs.)
That's the rub. Zhaoxin has taken VIA, which was a cheap low-ish power x86 alternative to AMD and Intel and turned it into a company that produces products aimed squarely at the domestic Chinese market. So assuming buyers in China want something cheap that probably isn't laden with foreign hardware exploits (IME, or whatever else), the choices are really down to Zhaoxin and Huawei. Comparisons between the company's products are inevitable. I suspect that there will be a fair amount of money thrown at Huawei's custom operating system and supporting software for businesses and consumers to have decent alternatives to x86 software.
 

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
830
274
106
Windows runs on ARM, Linux runs on ARM, MacOS runs on ARM. I honestly see more likelihood that the PROC runs their government computers on Huawei ARM chips than on these poor x86 ones. (Even if Huawei are now barred from using TSMC, they can use the Chinese fabs.)
Does Huawei have its own custom acorn core?
 

NTMBK

Diamond Member
Nov 14, 2011
8,907
1,981
136

Kosusko

Member
Nov 10, 2019
89
55
51
Wow, an octa-core struggling to compete with budget dual-core chips from Intel and AMD. I wonder how this would compare to something like Intel's Denverton chips (8-12 small cores)?
The only thing that matters is that they replace Intel and AMD processors.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,903
9,088
136
The only thing that matters is that they replace Intel and AMD processors.
So why are you trying to promote processors that are competitive only with 15 year old processors ? Who except the Chinese would even buy such a slug ? If so , this is not the place to advertise it, a Chinese site would do better. No one else will buy it.
 

Kosusko

Member
Nov 10, 2019
89
55
51
So why are you trying to promote processors that are competitive only with 15 year old processors ? Who except the Chinese would even buy such a slug ? If so , this is not the place to advertise it, a Chinese site would do better. No one else will buy it.
I have VIA / Centaur processor and they are enough me for my daily office work, multimedia. Why wouldn't I buy a Zhaoxin / Centaur processor if it would be more powerful than my VIA Processor. This is called competition and especially free choice.
 
  • Like
Reactions: amd6502

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,903
9,088
136
I have VIA / Centaur processor and they are enough me for my daily office work, multimedia. Why wouldn't I buy a Zhaoxin / Centaur processor if it would be more powerful than my VIA Processor. This is called competition and especially free choice.
If its enough for you fine, but I fail to see why you keep pushing it here, when its its NOT fine for the rest of the world. And it has no competition. You can buy older AMD/Intel processors for $5 on ebay. And they are still faster.
 
  • Like
Reactions: moinmoin

ASK THE COMMUNITY