YAWT - I've hit a plateau

WhiteKnight

Platinum Member
May 21, 2001
I've been lifting regularly for about two years now but this morning while I was at the gym I looked at my notebook and realized that I haven't really made any progress in several months. I've been changing my workout regularly, supplementing my diet with protein shakes, and staying on a regular routine, but I just seem to have hit a wall. My regular workout schedule is:

M: Shoulders and back
T: Cardio
W: Chest, bicep, tricep
Th: Cardio
F: Legs

This has varied a bit over the months of course. There are a smattering of ab workouts in there too. I usually do two or three sets per exercise, about 5-7 reps. I'm 5'11", 165-170, atheltic build. It seems that regardless of fluctuations in my diet (I went to Italy for a week last month) my weight never varies by more than +- 2 pounds. In fact, after that week in Italy, I didn't lift any more weight than I usually do, but it did seem easier.

Anyway, any thoughts on how to work through this? Thanks.

NINaudio

Feb 3, 2005
have you tried varying your amounts of sets and reps? instead of 2-3 sets, try 3-4 and 7-10 reps. You may need to use slightly less weight, but the change in sets and reps might help you nreak that plateau.

Rent

Diamond Member
Aug 8, 2000
a) Increase weight
b) Increase reps
c) Increase time on every rep (do it slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwly)

Taking a short break can be beneficial to your body by allowing it to rebuild areas that normally wouldn't have time to due to your regular routine.

You also need to be clear about what your goals are. Are you going for endurance or definition or strength?

Calin

Diamond Member
Apr 9, 2001
ok, there is a limit for what you can do, and pushing over it will get you only accidents. If you want to try more, you could try lots of things - isometric effort, negative effort, and more.
(and I envy you)

Calin
EDIT: or you might be overtraining - you could try to reduce the total weight pushed in a training