YAWT: Full Squats vs. plain ol' Squats.

polm

Diamond Member
May 24, 2001
I have been doing "Max OT" training for about 6 months or so.

I usually hit my Legs + Calves once a week.

My primary exercise for legs are Squats.

I used to do plain Squats (quads about parallel to the floor), but I changed over to Full Squats (practically all the way down) a few months ago.

I love Full Squats. They are harder and seem to produce better results.

Am I missing out on anything by not doing standard squats ?

Amused

Elite Member
Apr 14, 2001
Nothing I can think of.

I wish I could do full squats, but I'm just not able to in my old age. :(

RagingBITCH

Lifer
Sep 27, 2003
At least you're not doing Semi Squats - you know, those people who don't even go parallel to the floor.

I go slightly past parallel but not anywhere near full squats though. (I do go deep as possible on leg press)

abracadabra1

Diamond Member
Nov 18, 1999
Originally posted by: JackBurton
I do parallel in fear of blowing my knees out doing deep squats (full squats). :(

I've heard similar elsewhere...but I generally go somewhere in between parallel and full.

abracadabra1

Diamond Member
Nov 18, 1999
I wouldn't think you'd be missing out on anything...but you might be injuring (or increasing the chance of injury) your knees

Can anyone confirm this?

CPA

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001