YAMT: Yet another Marriage thread. Why get married?

XZeroII

Lifer
Jun 30, 2001
I'm sure this has been discussed before, but in leu of recent events, I have to question why people even want to get married. Marriage used to be a sacred bond where you basically told God that you would spend the rest of your life with someone, usually for the purpose of starting a family.

I'm not a marriage expert (not being married myself), but can someone explain just why people want to get married in this modern world, and why gays want to be married. What advantage is there besides just being able to say you are married? AFAIK, you also get penalized and have to pay more on your taxes when you're married.

Why do people want to be married?

conjur

No Lifer
Jun 7, 2001
For one, people didn't always do it for religious reasons. In fact, in our colonial history, it was either love or a contract between two families and religion rarely entered into the picture.

But, people marry for myriad reasons: Love, societal expectations, lega/financial benefits, convenience, religious, moral, raise a family under the societal banner of marriage.

XZeroII

Lifer
Jun 30, 2001
Originally posted by: conjur
For one, people didn't always do it for religious reasons. In fact, in our colonial history, it was either love or a contract between two families and religion rarely entered into the picture.

But, people marry for myriad reasons: Love, societal expectations, lega/financial benefits, convenience, religious, moral, raise a family under the societal banner of marriage.

What advantage is there, though. Does love change when you get married? Does it get better? How is it more convenient when it costs thousands of dollars and you get a piece of paper out of it? How is it moral? How does it help a family?

ElFenix

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Mar 20, 2000
tim robbins and susan sarandon: not married

conjur

No Lifer
Jun 7, 2001
Originally posted by: XZeroII