YACT: What would cause an automatic transmission of a car to jerk when shifting gears?

Arkitech

Diamond Member
Apr 13, 2000
Lately I've noticed that sometimes my car (Dodge Intrepid) jerks a bit when I change from reverse to drive. Any idea of what this means? Does my transmission just need maintenance or trans fluid? Or is it something worse?

Also what does it mean if you hear a grinding noise when shifting gears? (This has'nt happened to me yet but I've heard other cars with that problem)

MaxFusion16

Golden Member
Dec 21, 2001
i'm no mechanic, but the samething happened to my dad's taurus, the car would jerk with a thump, 2 years later, the car's tranny blew on the road.
So i'd say get it checked out ASAP.

BW86

Lifer
Jul 20, 2004
happened to me, i felt a big jerk everytimg i shifted and i heard grinding gears. i drained the fliud out of my tranny and to my suprise it was running very low. I bought some new fluid pumped it in and it was gone. :p

T2T III

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
If there's a big jerk, does it happen when the car is cold? Does it happen when the RPMs are high just after starting the car? If so, let the car idle for a minute to get the RPMs down to a normal range (700 RPM) and see if it minimizes the jerking.