XP installation: Error: Set up can't copy the file: processr.sys and a few others

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by XRdirtHead, Feb 18, 2004.

  1. XRdirtHead

    XRdirtHead Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't get windows to install. I keep getting the same error that windows can't copy the following files:
    processr.sys
    nic1394.sys
    sonydcam.sys
    msh263.drv
    ntkrnlpa.exe

    I tried using different XP install disks, different hd, different cd drive, different graphics card.

    The mobo and cpu are new and I suspect one of them.

    Asus K8V with AMD 64 chip.

    any ideas?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - installation Error copy Forum Date
    NSIS error “Error launching installer Operating Systems Jun 11, 2017
    KB958559 (Virutal PC) errors out when installing on W7 SP1 ultimate Operating Systems Dec 11, 2014
    Fresh Install Windows 7 Errors Operating Systems Feb 16, 2014
    Win7 Install: Disk Read Error at 1st reboot, please help Operating Systems Oct 11, 2012
    installing XP on my laptop and it says it can't copy a file then I get a PFN_LIST_CORRUPT error Operating Systems Mar 26, 2005

  3. dawks

    dawks Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,065
    Likes Received:
    2
    Scrached CD? Bad Ram? Bad IDE cables on the cd-rom drive and/or hard drive? bad sectors on the harddrive?
     
  4. XRdirtHead

    XRdirtHead Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    rams ok....corsair xms..... tried ide and sata hd .....same exact files not being copied.
    I even copied the files to a cdr and it still wouldnt copy them.
     
  5. dawks

    dawks Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,065
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well if you've tried everything but the CPU and motherboard, chances are, its one of those two.. :p

    Could be the processor and/or chipset are over heating...
     
  6. XRdirtHead

    XRdirtHead Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    bios has the cpu at 39c..... i'm guessing mobo then