X3:Reunion Insaaanely hard...

TBSN

Nov 12, 2006
I just started playing X3. So far its pretty cool, but also very difficult. I am at the part where you have to find a reclusive Goner guy in freedom's reach. I have very little money and my ship is pretty damaged. If I encounter any group of pirates I almost definitely die.

Is there a way to get money when you only have the first little ship and are very vulnerable to being attacked? Why do my lasers run out of power so quickly? Is it just a hard game or am I doing something wrong?

thanks...

ZzZGuy

Golden Member
Nov 15, 2006
The plot is secondary in that game, it's mostly a sand box. There are also a great deal of mods and scripts to add to the game once you know what the heck you're doing.

TBSN

Nov 12, 2006
hmmm, I looked around in the forum-there are a lot of specific questions and answers. This game just has a steep learning curve I guess. It's just annoying that there are no side missions that earn money, all you have to do I guess is freight back and forth small amounts of goods until you have the cash to get a bigger ship...

Dethfrumbelo

Golden Member
Nov 16, 2004
Capturing pirate ships is the best way to make money early on. Doing trading yourself sucks until you can get a TL ship. Later on, you can use automated traders to do it for you.

You may want to try the Xtended mod, but be warned that it will make the game considerably more difficult than vanilla.

imported_FishTaco

Golden Member
Apr 28, 2004
Try starting your game on easy. The game plays the same but you start with your beginning ship + a basic cargo ship + more money.

Dethfrumbelo

Golden Member
Nov 16, 2004
Originally posted by: TBSN
cool, how do I capture ships?