WTF is 'Speed binning' in laymans terms?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by CHOPPER GOD, May 4, 2005.

  1. CHOPPER GOD

    CHOPPER GOD Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    WTF is 'Speed binning' in laymans terms?
     
  2. Phlargo

    Phlargo Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you make CPUs, some come out better than others.

    Let's say you make Athlon 64s with 512k cache at .9 process.
    Some come out better than others. The ones that come out best clock higher and get called A64 - 3500+. The ones that don't turn out so well get called A64 - 3000+.

    The reason we can overclock them is that the 'bin' they put the finished product into often is far below its maximum capacity.
     
  3. Maverick

    Maverick Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,900
    Likes Received:
    0
    AMD also has to keep a steady supply of chips for each rating(3000+,3200+,3500+, and so on)

    Sometimes when yields get low for one rating they fill up the bin from yields from one bin higher...thus some chips clock better than others.
     
  4. imported_Kensai

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    They've said it all.
     
  5. AnandThenMan

    AnandThenMan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    They have a bunch of bins with cartoon stickers on them. The fastest chips goes into a bin with a roadrunner sticker on it. The slowest go into the bin with cecil the turtle on it. The VERY slowest (and the chips that don't work properly) go into the bin with an Intel sticker.
     
  6. theMan

    theMan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    :laugh:
     
  7. CHOPPER GOD

    CHOPPER GOD Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats funny..thx guys
     
  8. CHOPPER GOD

    CHOPPER GOD Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    so basically you would want a 3500+ that got called a 3000+? You order a 3000 and it is secretly a 3500 which explains my 3000 oc's to 2.6 but my friends 3000 craps out lower. hmmm Is this why you guys worry about week such and such and CBBID or whatever? If this is the case Please tell me what you all deem the best week/code whatever for 3200 Winnies..thx
     
  9. GuitarDaddy

    GuitarDaddy Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    11,466
    Likes Received:
    0

    My 3200 Winnie is CBBFD 0441 TPAW week 41, 2004 it will prime95 forever at 2588mhz and is benchable up to 2628mhz, not the best 3200 I've seen but a good one IMHO. I haven't kept up with the current chips but the week 38-48 chips from 2004 all seemed to hit 2.6ghz.

     
  10. CHOPPER GOD

    CHOPPER GOD Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's almost worth going to Fry's electronics and having the Zit faced kid look through all of them for a certain week since the retail package is see-through!
     
  11. n yusef

    n yusef Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are buying an A64, just get a Venice (later revision than Winnchester) from monarchcomputer.com. It's almost guaranteed that you'll hit more than 2.6 with one.
     
  12. Necrolezbeast

    Necrolezbeast Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing is ever guaranteed....
     
  13. imported_Greenman

    imported_Greenman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always knew about binning, but it just occured to me that the multiplier must be locked after the cpu is finished and tested, so whatever locks it almost has to be an exterior mod. Seems there should be an easy way to unlock it in that case.
     
  14. CheesePoofs

    CheesePoofs Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,163
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe they lock the multipliers by laser cutting part of the chip, ie there's a small piece that allows the chip to do an 11 multi, for example, and so if they want that chip to only have a 9 multi, they will laser cut the part that lets it do the 11 multi and the 10 multi off.
     
  15. MDme

    MDme Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyway, getting good chips and OC's are still partly determined by your luck (and of course your skill at OC too). what you can do is control as much of he variables as you can (FSB, mem, PSU, Mobo, week of manufacture of CPU, cooling) and cross your fingers. you can also follow Zebo's uber guide up there.
     
  16. Shimmishim

    Shimmishim Elite Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    i agree... overclocking is partially luck (from the chip you get) and then the skill parts come in from tweaking your system to run at a target speed...
     
  17. stevty2889

    stevty2889 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    7,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Binning gets done prior to cutting up the wafer, so after they test every chip, they bin them, laser cut them to the correct multiplier, and then cut up the wafer, and they get packaged.
     
  18. imported_Greenman

    imported_Greenman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never seen or read about the complete process, but I would never have thought the cpu was tested before the waffer was cut up and the chip packaged. In fact, I'd bet pretty long odds that it doesn't happen that way.
     
  19. stevty2889

    stevty2889 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    7,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    The speed binning is done prior to the wafer being cut up. I use to run the tools that did the testing, so trust me I know..the chips are tested again after being packaged, but every die on the wafer is tested and binned prior to the wafer being cut, it's much more efficient that way..
     
  20. sangyup81

    sangyup81 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it didn't happen that way, then what would you do if you made a 3500+ and it's only good for a 3200+? You'd have to throw it away. That would be very bad for AMD
     
  21. imported_Greenman

    imported_Greenman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    That makes some sence anyway. But whats the reason for double testing? It seems that they have to test the finished cpu, whats the logic behind not speed testing at the same time?
     
  22. stevty2889

    stevty2889 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    7,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because they have to laser cut the die to the correct multipliers prior to packaging it..they can test it's speed prior to seperating it from the wafer, while they can test it's functionality after it's been packaged by putting it in a test system..

    EDIT: Also it would kinda be a waste of money to package it first, and then find out it didnt' work..
     
  23. n7

    n7 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love the AMD love here :laugh:
     
  24. imported_Greenman

    imported_Greenman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting stuff, and also answers a question I had about locking the multipliers. I had been wondering how that worked. Thanks for the info.
     
Loading...