"Write Protect" error on Olympus digital camera... how to fix?

Discussion in 'OT Discussion Club' started by imported_Tomato, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. imported_Tomato

    imported_Tomato Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I turn on my digital camera, all functions work but it won't allow me to take pictures. When I press down on the button, a "WRITE PROTECT!" error message comes up. Is there a way to fix this without having to take it into the shop?

    *feeling horribly tech-illiterate*

    EDIT: Apparently I can't spell, either. :(

    EDIT #2: Thank you, okay for Mods to lock if necessary. :)

    EDIT #3: Doh! It's actually an Olympus digital camera... my old one was a Sony, and I got confused. I've tried everything, and all functions work fine except for that damn "Write Protect!". Any more suggestions?

    EDIT #4: Formatted, it works perfectly again. :) Thank you, ATOT! :heart:
     
  2. TuxDave

    TuxDave Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,577
    Likes Received:
    3
    Were you able to take pictures before? What type of memory does the camera use?
     
  3. SoyBoy004

    SoyBoy004 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    what kind of camera do u have?
     
  4. slycat

    slycat Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    wrong forum.
     
  5. geno

    geno Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 1999
    Messages:
    25,077
    Likes Received:
    2
    If it's a Sony, I know MemoryStick has a switch to turn write protection on...
     
  6. Ornery

    Ornery Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    20,020
    Likes Received:
    14
    There's probably a switch on the memory card to keep it from being written to. I'm just gueesing, but that's the case with Memory Sticks.
     
  7. imported_Tomato

    imported_Tomato Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll check the MemoryStick when I go home. Thank you so much, sounds fairly easy to fix.
     
  8. imported_Tomato

    imported_Tomato Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doh... it's not a Sony, it's an Olympus. :(
     
  9. gopunk

    gopunk Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    29,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    regardless of what brand it is, chances are the memory card has the write protection switch on... just look for a switch of some sort....
     
  10. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    Format => Reinstall windows!
     
  11. Brutuskend

    Brutuskend Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Messages:
    26,559
    Likes Received:
    1
    My guess as well
     
  12. fs5

    fs5 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    11,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's an olympus that means it probably uses smart media. SM doesn't have a switch IIRC. (or possibly XD)

    Do you have a card reader? Does the card read in it?
     
  13. Electric Amish

    Electric Amish Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1999
    Messages:
    23,582
    Likes Received:
    0
    You may need to format the media.

    RTFM to find out how.
     
  14. imported_Tomato

    imported_Tomato Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't see a switch when I checked the memory card... and no, I don't have a card reader...

    Electric Amish, RTFM?
     
  15. BigSmooth

    BigSmooth Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    10,481
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you checked your owner's manual? Maybe there is a suggestion in the troubleshooting section.
    If it uses SmartMedia, there's a chance the card is scratched or something. Does this happen with different cards? If not, SM is super-cheap so you should just toss the bad one and get another.
     
  16. imported_Tomato

    imported_Tomato Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, I managed to lose the manual shortly after purchasing the camera... I haven't tried different cards, but it sounds like I'll be bringing it into Fry's for SM.
     
  17. freegeeks

    freegeeks Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    RTFM = Read The F*cking Manual

     
  18. imported_Tomato

    imported_Tomato Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wish I could, thx...
     
  19. BigSmooth

    BigSmooth Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    10,481
    Likes Received:
    1
    If possible, I would try formatting the card first as well.
    SM is pretty cheap, though.
     
  20. Brutuskend

    Brutuskend Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Messages:
    26,559
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Smartmedia Memory Card is an SSFDC (Solid State Floppy Disk Card) removable memory card. With a card like this you can record and erase data from Cameras, MP3 Players, Handheld PC's and more. A Smartmedia Memory Card is very small and thin. It is about 1/64 of an inch thick, (The Thickness is an estimated guess be me.) 1-¾ inches in length and 1-½ inches wide. Actual Dimensions are 45mm x 37mm x 0.76mm and the Weight is approximately 1.8g. There is a gold metal like area on the card, this is the contact area with the device for storing and deleting your photos or data. (DO NOT TOUCH THE GOLD AREA.) You will see a little circle in the right center of the card, this is the write-protect area. To make a Smartmedia Memory Card read only place a write-protect adhesive seal over the circle.

    Removing the write-protect adhesive seal will make the card like it was before so you can place data or your photos back on it. Smartmedia Memory Card come with a static-free sleeve and plastic case for storage. Usually included are index labels and write-protect adhesive seals. Use a little common sense when handling these tiny storage cards, you could damage them if misused. Storage sizes come in 8, 16, 32, 64 and 128MB. (Megabytes) Each Smartmedia Memory Card is marked on what size they are on the outside of the card. The 8MB and 16MB cards are the Olympus cards.The Olympus Camedia Smartmedia Memory Card have a Panorama function. The 2048x1536 Resolution is in the High Quality Mode and the 1280x960 & 640x480 Resolutions are in the Normal mode of camera.


     
  21. freegeeks

    freegeeks Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there a little circle in the right center of the card??? if so this is the write protect area
    make sure there is no seal on that circle
     
  22. fs5

    fs5 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    11,774
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. BigSmooth

    BigSmooth Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    10,481
    Likes Received:
    1
    There should definitely be an option to format the card somewhere in the delete options... at least there has been on every camera I've used.
     
  24. imported_Tomato

    imported_Tomato Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phew, sounds like that should work... thank you so much, I'll check and see if there's a write-protect adhesive seal on the card when I go home for lunch today. Will be back in ~3 hours with Model # and verdict.

    You guys are the best, thank you so much. :)
     
  25. JoeKing

    JoeKing Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    10,642
    Likes Received:
    1
    if there's not an option in the cam to format, winxp should allow you to do it when you hook it up to the computer.