Working with jealous and competitive employee

steppinthrax

Diamond Member
Jul 17, 2006
OK here?s the deal. I?ve been working within the IT dept for about a year as a web spec. I work in a hospital. Another person who is my co-worker is a systems analyst. He?s much older then me, about a 15 yr diff has more experience and educational background and worked there 3+ years then me.

Since I?ve worked with him I?ve noticed he?s been trying to compete with me. Once he realized my real abilities I guess he started to feel threatened. He tries to keep me out of the loop when we are supposed to be working together for example and doesn?t want any projects going to me. My boss was trying to get him to train me but he doesn?t want to train me. He kinds of avoids it. So I told my boss after a while (for the first time) of what?s going on that he doesn?t want to train me and keeps me out of the loop.

In a couple of days after that all of the 3rd party applications and projects that he supported were immediately transferred over to me. He has little to do now. He seems angry now and is going to other co-workers and talking.

Is this typical. What does this usually indicate? Is there a storm coming!!!!!!!!!!

Idontcare

Elite Member
Oct 10, 1999
Originally posted by: steppinthrax
OK here?s the deal. I?ve been working within the IT dept for about a year as a web spec. I work in a hospital. Another person who is my co-worker is a systems analyst. He?s much younger then me, has more experience and educational background and worked there 3+ years then me.