Working out + nutrition + prisoners

Syringer

Lifer
Aug 2, 2001
Every work out guide or site that I've seem all disagree with each other in just about everything..except for the importance of the role that nutrition plays in gaining. Essentially, the conclusion without "proper" nutrition there's no chance that a person will grow muscle.

However, how is it that prisoners..based on stereotypes, movies, etc., end up bulking up a great amount in their prison terms? I'm sure their workout regiments are top notch, since there isn't much else to do, but I can't imagine that they're getting proper nutrition, downing protein shakes, weight gainers, etc..but you see guys like Mark Wahlberg go in as a skinny kid emerge like Mr. Olympia while in prison. What exactly are they eating in there?

jagec

Lifer
Apr 30, 2004
I'm no expert, but I think that "proper nutrition" is a much more broad and forgiving term than most people realize. As long as you don't have a deficiency of something vital, your body can deal with excesses fairly well if you keep exercising.

TheNinja

Lifer
Jan 22, 2003
I've often wondered that myself. My guess is that they do get plenty of food in prison. Regardless of whether it is "clean" food like grilled chicken, they are still getting enough calories to grow big. I don't know how prisons work, but do they get as much food as they want, or are they on a diet?

Special K

Diamond Member
Jun 18, 2000
Originally posted by: jagec
I'm no expert, but I think that "proper nutrition" is a much more broad and forgiving term than most people realize. As long as you don't have a deficiency of something vital, your body can deal with excesses fairly well if you keep exercising.

If they are consuming more calories than they are burning, plus lifting weights, then they will build at least some muscle. How much will depend on genetics, the quality of their diet, and a host of other factors.

MX2

Lifer
Apr 11, 2004