WOOOOT !!!! 2400mhz from 2000mhz on my 3800x2 powered 100% stock DELL E521 !!!!!

Mjvyxyn

Banned
May 19, 2006
602
0
0
Utilities used on my Dell E521 to achieve my OC :

ClockGen ( Lets you change the FSB/Core clock speed )
&
CBId Download "8.20 Version 8.2.0.A Build 0112 R10" or later ( Lets you change Vcore )

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WOOT !!! My DELL E521 has only been out of the box for a few hours and I already got the 3800x2 from 2ghz to 2.4ghz with stock voltage using only ClockGen : )

I tried for 2500mhz but 3DMark05 locked up on me : ( I bet it'll take 2500mhz in 30 days after the break in period : )

System went from 1905 3DMarks and 5024 CPU score without overclocking ( has the crappy 7300 LE TC in it ) to 2048 3Dmarks and 6200 CPU score : )

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After using CBId to force the Vcore to 1.35v from 1.3v I was able to get the CPU to 2500mhz last night but sadly I lost 1k on 3DMark05 ( Used a 6800GT this time ). Though it did complete the test I doubt it would be P95 stable but I'ma try 2450mhz later.

At 2400mhz with a 6800GT running at stock speed ( 350/1000 ) I got 5024 on 3DMark05 .

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Doesn't look like the wonders for the E521 cease there

Pic 1

Pic 2

Oh yeah baby, thats right. Thats an X1800XT PE being powered by the stock PSU and all I had to do was a tiny mod on the case so the card could breathe : ) Also I moddified the case to accept a standard ATX PSU and I have a 500w Ultra X Connect on it's way : )

My best score with this setup on 3DMark05 was 10,270 : )
 

Accord99

Platinum Member
Jul 2, 2001
2,259
172
106
Cool 'N Quiet. Lowers the clock speed and voltage to reduce power consumption in low load situations.
 

Ayah

Platinum Member
Jan 1, 2006
2,512
1
81
Cool and Quiet? It reduces multi and voltage when you're not using it to save electricity and disperse less heat.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
21,842
11,199
136
Go go overclocking Dell? All this OCing may be getting out of hand . . . *)
 

avi85

Senior member
Apr 24, 2006
988
0
0
Originally posted by: MJVyxyn
WOOT !!! My DELL E521 has only been out of the box for a few hours and I already got the 3800x2 from 2ghz to 2.4ghz with stock voltage using only ClockGen : )

I tried for 2500mhz but 3DMark05 locked up on me : ( I bet it'll take 2500mhz in 30 days after the break in period : )

System went from 1905 3DMarks and 5024 CPU score without overclocking ( has the crappy 7300 LE TC in it ) to 2048 3Dmarks and 6200 CPU score : )

Why on earth would you buy a dell if you want to oc?
 

Zap

Elite Member
Oct 13, 1999
22,377
2
81
Originally posted by: avi85
Why on earth would you buy a dell if you want to oc?

Uh, because you can?

Actually sometimes you can get really good deals for a whole system (including legit Windows and an LCD monitor). Also, not everyone is capable, willing to or has the time to build their own.
 

TStep

Platinum Member
Feb 16, 2003
2,460
10
81
Originally posted by: avi85

Why on earth would you buy a dell if you want to oc?


short answer - because you can (or at least can try)

fun, challenge, fulfilling the desire to squeeze a little something out of the man, to boldly go where no man has gone before :)

What's the fun in slapping a CD2 into a $400 mobo with DDR2-2000 with 99.99% assurance you'll be able to overclock the bejesus out of it? Well I take that back, that is still fun. The most fun I've had recently was a B130 fsb pin mod to 133 and 2.26 along with a little voltage boost. A hundred $$ extra cpu for the cost of a drop of Ceramique and 0.000001 oz of copper.
 

KK

Lifer
Jan 2, 2001
15,903
4
81
do you think any of the other processors 4200, 4600, or 5000 have the capability of being overclocked successfully.
 

vtohthree

Senior member
Apr 18, 2005
701
0
0
wow, congrats, that's quite an accomplishment on a dell.

As for other responses, as to why oc a dell? Heck, I would, for the sake of getting an already built computer for a really cheap price! And why not make the deal sweeter by OC'ing it?
 

Avalon

Diamond Member
Jul 16, 2001
7,567
152
106
Nice job with the OC'ing, but if it can't hit 2500mhz now, it won't do it 30 days from now. Processors don't really "break in". Now, memory you can burn in, but that's a different story.
 

Noubourne

Senior member
Dec 15, 2003
751
0
76
400Mhz OC. That is just so cute.

I'd have to say the 30-day break-in comment was my favorite.
 

Mjvyxyn

Banned
May 19, 2006
602
0
0
Well it did 2500mhz after I used CBId to force the vcore to 1.35v from 1.3v . But sadfly my 3DMark05 score dropped 1K : (

And as for Why I did this. I got the system for about $150 less than what DELL charges : P
 

Duvie

Elite Member
Feb 5, 2001
16,215
0
71
I am just happy to hear stories you can buy AMD at Dell....That in its own right is a miracle....

Can you mod ram voltage? You may need to relax ram timings or use a divider. Can you get into a working bios? I bet that may start becoming an issue if you cannot relax timings, use a lower divider, and/or raise vdimm....

 

chhenry

Junior Member
Apr 2, 2006
3
0
0
I ordered a 4200+ E521 for a good price. I didn't really but it to overclock it but was wondering if I could squeeze a little extra out of it. I'm assuming you cant overclock this through the bios. Is clockgen the only way to go? Thanks
 

Maxspeed996

Senior member
Dec 9, 2005
848
0
0
Originally posted by: Duvie
I am just happy to hear stories you can buy AMD at Dell....That in its own right is a miracle....

Can you mod ram voltage? You may need to relax ram timings or use a divider. Can you get into a working bios? I bet that may start becoming an issue if you cannot relax timings, use a lower divider, and/or raise vdimm....

Duvie....the numbers on that quad are sick. :thumbsup:
 

WT

Diamond Member
Sep 21, 2000
4,818
59
91
Nice job ... appreciate the post as well. I recommended this Dell for a family looking for a good PC over the holidays. Found it for $389 minus monitor, so thats a great deal and from your results it looks like you did your homework and have a nice rig as a result of that work.

:thumbsup:
 

Dadofamunky

Platinum Member
Jan 4, 2005
2,184
0
0
Man, that's a cool little piece of software. Too bad you can't adjust your HTT multiplier with it. I can't do that in the BIOS for my machine, so I'm really stuck with a <10% stable overclock. In fact, I'm surprised I got as far as I did.

That software is cool, as I said, but I'd be worried about frying my machine's innards by getting greedy with the settings and then committing the changes... it doesn't give you any voltage control either. So basically it's a toy. There's no substitute for getting to know your BIOS. For machines like the Dell or the HP POS I'm stuck with at work, I think ClockGen might actually be a useful tool for squeezing a little more out of your system.
 

tvdang7

Platinum Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,242
5
81
so only on amd dell's? no intel? my sister has an old celeron 2.6ghz dell wonder if it will work.
 

Mjvyxyn

Banned
May 19, 2006
602
0
0
Pic's coming up shortly of the case mod to fit my 7900GTO that is on it's way and I have already installed an ULTRA X2-Connect 550w PSU in the case and replaced the dull 120mm front fan with a higher CFM Blue LED fan : ) Also I'll be showing how I got past the "Cpu Fan fail error while increasing the air leaving my case ; )
 

bchivers

Member
Mar 20, 2005
188
0
0
Man, that's a cool little piece of software. Too bad you can't adjust your HTT multiplier with it. I can't do that in the BIOS for my machine, so I'm really stuck with a <10% stable overclock. In fact, I'm surprised I got as far as I did.
Have you tried A64 Info
Cool 'N Quiet. Lowers the clock speed and voltage to reduce power consumption in low load situations.
You want to make sure this is disabled before you start OC'ing.
 

Ruptga

Lifer
Aug 3, 2006
10,247
207
106
I'm gonna try this on my inspiron... just because I can :p

edit: mmm, it didn't detect the chipset, any ideas as to how I find what PLL to select? I mean I'm going to google it, but if someone has experience that'd be great too
 

Pwntcomputer

Senior member
Oct 6, 2005
273
0
0
Originally posted by: MJVyxyn
Utilities used on my Dell E521 to achieve my OC :

ClockGen ( Lets you change the FSB/Core clock speed )
&
CBId Download "8.20 Version 8.2.0.A Build 0112 R10" or later ( Lets you change Vcore )

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WOOT !!! My DELL E521 has only been out of the box for a few hours and I already got the 3800x2 from 2ghz to 2.4ghz with stock voltage using only ClockGen : )

I tried for 2500mhz but 3DMark05 locked up on me : ( I bet it'll take 2500mhz in 30 days after the break in period : )

System went from 1905 3DMarks and 5024 CPU score without overclocking ( has the crappy 7300 LE TC in it ) to 2048 3Dmarks and 6200 CPU score : )

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After using CBId to force the Vcore to 1.35v from 1.3v I was able to get the CPU to 2500mhz last night but sadly I lost 1k on 3DMark05 ( Used a 6800GT this time ). Though it did complete the test I doubt it would be P95 stable but I'ma try 2450mhz later.

At 2400mhz with a 6800GT running at stock speed ( 350/1000 ) I got 5024 on 3DMark05 .

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Doesn't look like the wonders for the E521 cease there

Pic 1

Pic 2

Oh yeah baby, thats right. Thats an X1800XT PE being powered by the stock PSU and all I had to do was a tiny mod on the case so the card could breathe : ) Also I moddified the case to accept a standard ATX PSU and I have a 500w Ultra X Connect on it's way : )

My best score with this setup on 3DMark05 was 10,270 : )

What are you idle and load speeds. Also, what are your ambient in the room where the comp is housed. I am going to OC X2 3800+. Thanks OP!