Wireless bridge help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by techuser12, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. techuser12

    techuser12 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm curious if this is possible or if there are better solutions out there.

    Inside a local LAN (192.168.1.x network A), I have a separate gaming LAN (10.0.0.x network B). The reason for this is to keep the broadcast traffic separate while still allowing the gaming LAN to connect to the Internet through network A. Network B is downstairs and A is upstairs. Currently, I have a router downstairs (Linksys WRT54GX) connected to a wireless ethernet adapter which connects to network A. The Linksys provides wireless clients (10.0.0.x)

    Since it's time to upgrade to wireless N, I'd like to find something that will allow me to bridge the two subnets together wirelessly BUT also providing a WAP to the 10.0.0.x network downstairs. What would you all recommend? Any questions or comments are appreciated!

    Thanks!
     
  2. techuser12

    techuser12 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone? Help!
     
  3. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,349
    Likes Received:
    12
  4. techuser12

    techuser12 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, but even with DDWRT can a wireless router connect to a different subnet wirelessly while still serving as an access point for a separate subnet? I would think the answer is no due to hardware limitations.
     
  5. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,349
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, it can. That is one of the benefits of DD-WRT: using software workarounds for hardware limitations.

    If you look at the custom commands from the guide I linked you'll see it does just that.

     
    #5 AnonymouseUser, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  6. techuser12

    techuser12 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The article you linked to had the routers connected via copper. I'm trying to do it wirelessly.

    Sorry, I probably should have been more clear. I'll post what I currently have and see if there are any suggestions / comments.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,349
    Likes Received:
    12
    I really don't think it matters how it is connected in that guide, as the wired and wireless interfaces will share the same subnet per router.

    Can you list all of the network hardware (modem, router, access point, etc) you currently use? The diagram is a little confusing without that specific info.
     
  8. techuser12

    techuser12 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, sorry about that. I'm at work and clearly no artist. :D

    Home LAN (192.168.1.1) is an Actiontec MI424WR Verizon FIOS wireless router which lives upstairs.

    Downstairs, we have a Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP Ethernet Converter (IP 192.168.1.250) which connects to the FIOS wirelessly and outputs copper to the WAN port of a Linksys WRT54GX (10.0.0.1). We have multiple machines hardwired to the 10.0.0.x LAN for gaming purposes. We also have the WRT54GX running an access point for anyone who brings a laptop to the LAN parties we run (clients get a 10.0.0.x IP).

    The goal is to allow access to the net from the 10.0.0.x computers, but run it on a different subnet due to the traffic. We want to upgrade the Buffalo and Linksys to N, and was just looking for general input / suggestions / comments. Replacing those pieces with one box is ideal, but I don't think it's possible. Any and all suggestions, comments, ideas are appreciated.

    Anonymouse - thanks for hanging in there with me and being patient! I appreciate it!
     
  9. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,349
    Likes Received:
    12
    I would suggest the Asus RT-N66U for Gigabit LAN and "Gigabit" Wireless (up to 900Mbps with dual-band adapter). You would configure the RT-N66U as an Access Point and manually configure the LAN IP address. This should give you the separate subnets, but if, for whatever reason, this doesn't work the way you want it, you can install DD-WRT for increased functionality.

    The one problem with your network will be the Actiontec MI424WR router since it's only capable of 100Mbps LAN and 54Mbps Wireless G speeds. If you can connect the RT-N66U via copper to the MI424WR router then you can get internet speeds up to 100Mbps, but if you connect it wirelessly you'll only get up to 54Mbps. This is only a problem if the FiOS speeds you pay for are higher, of course.

    EDIT>> I may be mistaken about the Access Point functionality, and it may not be possible to connect the RT-N66U to the MI424WR as an Access Point wirelessly. You may need DD-WRT even with the RT-N66U.
     
    #9 AnonymouseUser, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  10. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    27,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    Techuser12, you can stay with the same topology as you have now and just replace the Linksys and the Buffalo with newer Wireless devices

    Any Wireless Router with DD_WRT can be configured as a Client Bridge and replace the so called Buffalo Converter.

    Thus basically you have to replace the Linksys with a Good Wireless Router of your choice, and the Buffalo with a second Wireless Router configured as a Client Bridge.

    If you do not need Giga ports you can try two of these.

    http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Ro...-Router_stcVVproductId138177695VVviewprod.htm

    Wirless Cleint with DD-WRT here - http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged


    :cool:
     
  11. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,349
    Likes Received:
    12
    Unfortunately that won't give techuser12 the wireless connectivity for the second router/subnet that he is looking for. I do wonder if a dual-band router (eg, RT-N66U) could be configured with the 2.4GHz band as an access point to the MI424WR, and the 5GHz band plus LAN as a router for the gaming subnet. If that's even possible it may still require DD-WRT.

    Keeping his current Buffalo ethernet converter may be the best/easiest option, and just replace the WRT54GX with any Wireless N router. I don't see the point in replacing the Buffalo since the Verizon modem/router won't do higher than G speeds anyway.
     
  12. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    27,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    Many times there is more than one solution to each issue.

    In general, I have No investment in forcing upon people what I use, or show others how "smart" I am.

    The level of my suggestions take into considerations the level of the OP knowledge about the topic as reflects in their posts, while trying to contain the cost within reasonable range.

    ----------------
    P.S. If the OP has the Revision F and above of the FIOS' Router it should be N capable Router, the Buffallo is a b/g only.

    :cool:
     
    #12 JackMDS, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  13. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,349
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, there usually is.

    Neither do I. techuser12 has a complicated setup that he's looking to replace with what may be even more complicated, and it's easy to overlook some of his requested functionality.

    Same here.

    I stand corrected. The first search result I got for the Actiontec MI424WR was the older G version, but the second result is the newer N version. Replacing the Buffalo would be a good idea, also.