Wireless Access Point Needed for use with MoCA - Update; using router questions

Discussion in 'Networking' started by trexmgd, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. trexmgd

    trexmgd Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a Verizon FiOS customer that uses the supplied Actiontec Wireless router. I couldn't get coverage over the entire house and have A/V equipment without wireless built in, so I installed a MoCA adapter (http://www.actiontec.com/products/product.php?pid=250) from actiontec.

    I'm looking for suggestions for a Wireless Access Point to plug into the MoCA unit. Optional, but not mandatory would be an access point with both wired and wireless connections.
     
    #1 trexmgd, Jan 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Wireless Access Point Forum Date
    Home LAN & WIFI Network Networking May 6, 2017
    2 wireless access points Networking Feb 15, 2017
    Wireless Access Point, Secured but No Internet Networking Feb 7, 2017
    Setting up Wireless Access Point Networking Feb 6, 2017
    Which access point would be the best fit? Networking Aug 19, 2016

  3. trexmgd

    trexmgd Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update and new questions: Looks like the thing to do is to use a router as an access point by turning off DHCP, etc.

    1) If I buy a newer router that supports a usb storage device, will it still work in this configuration?

    2) Is it better to have the wireless show up as a single source or have each show separately?