WinXP Pro, 845G Intel Chipset, and DMA

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Souka, Jul 23, 2003.

  1. Souka

    Souka Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    4,727
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, here's my config

    MSI 845G Max Board
    Latest BIOS and Drivers from MSI, Intel, and Windows Update
    Administrator Account
    OS: Windows XP Pro w/sp1

    Problem: Under Device Manager, IDE ATA/ATAPI Controller, Primary or Secondary IDE Channel, I am missing the "Advanced Settings" tab where you can set DMA or PIO mode on HD and CD devices.


    Question: How do I get the menu back? How do I verify in Windows my DMA status on each drive?


    Thanks in advance.

     
  2. LiLithTecH

    LiLithTecH Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Advanced Settings is more than likely not available
    be ACPI is not installed. (make sure it is set in the BIOS)

    You can check it by going to the DEVICE MANAGER and checking COMPUTER.
    If it is lists STANDARD PC, you need to repair XP with the correct HAL.
    You must have only ACPI set in Power Management.
    Once you set Power Management set for ACPI, then you have to Repair XP.

    To repair XP:
    1. Boot from the CD-ROM drive
    2. Do not choose Repair when it comes up here
    3. Rather, choose Install
    4. Your installation will be searched for and hopefully found
    5. Now choose Repair


     
  3. Souka

    Souka Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    4,727
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, thanks.

    I'll do the OS reinstall...errr.....I mean repair....heheh

    edit: I forgot to mention that in the BIOS Post screen, it shows both my HD's as DMA 5, and the DVD Burner as DMA 2.
    Does this make a difference?
     
  4. WarCon

    WarCon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you install the Intel Application Accelerator? I believe it takes those tabs away also as it controls those functions.
     
  5. Souka

    Souka Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    4,727
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, I had the IAA installed, but even after removing it, "Advanced Settings" feature not listed.

    Per 2nd post comments.
    a. You can check it by going to the DEVICE MANAGER and checking COMPUTER.
    ....it shows "ACPI Uniprocessor PC"

    b. You must have only ACPI set in Power Management.
    Once you set Power Management set for ACPI, then you have to Repair XP

    How do I get to this setting in Power Management....what screens/menus?



     
  6. LiLithTecH

    LiLithTecH Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    If ACPI is installed and the ADVANCE TAB is not
    available, its a good chance that the controller does
    not allow you to control the DMA settings.
     
Loading...