Question Windows Crashes & restarts itself but no message

dan99t

Nov 29, 2011
Hi,
I have Dell workstation with following specs :
CPU : Xeon E5645
RAM : 12 GB
GPUs ; Three AMD FirePro 2460 Low Profile Cards ( To run 12 Monitors )
12 Dell Monitors ( 1920x1200 )
Windows - 7

I have been using this system for last 10 years with no problem. Reason for Win-7 is that System & Cards won't run Win-10.
Recently one Fan that sucks the air & throws inside the system was making noise but system never crashed.
I cleaned the system with a blower & took out dirt. Now it makes much less noise.

But it crashes 1 to 3 times a day & restarts itself & takes much longer 10 to 20 minutes to boot.
There is no message when restarting like graphics drivers crashed or dumping memory etc.

System is in an A/C room ( keeping temp at 86 degree F )

Can you please tell me :

(1) what is causing windows to crash &
(2) why is it taking so long boot &
(3) What should I do ?

Thank You

Hotrod2go

Nov 17, 2021
My first thought is the PSU. Have you got a known working unit around the place to swap over & see if the problem persists?
Can't help you much on the ins & outs of win 7, its been too many yrs already for me!

Reactions: dan99t

mikeymikec

Lifer
May 19, 2011
Hi,
I have Dell workstation with following specs :
CPU : Xeon E5645
RAM : 12 GB
GPUs ; Three AMD FirePro 2460 Low Profile Cards ( To run 12 Monitors )
12 Dell Monitors ( 1920x1200 )
Windows - 7

I have been using this system for last 10 years with no problem. Reason for Win-7 is that System & Cards won't run Win-10.
Recently one Fan that sucks the air & throws inside the system was making noise but system never crashed.
I cleaned the system with a blower & took out dirt. Now it makes much less noise.

But it crashes 1 to 3 times a day & restarts itself & takes much longer 10 to 20 minutes to boot.
There is no message when restarting like graphics drivers crashed or dumping memory etc.