Windows 8, How to start 64 bit internet explorer?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Compman55, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. Compman55

    Compman55 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find it. In 7, you could use the 32 bit (default) and the 64 bit version, all from the start menu or search.
     
  2. lxskllr

    lxskllr Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    44,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Look in Program Files. I don't have a 64bit install to check, but you should find in there somewhere assuming you installed 64bit Windows.
     
  3. Compman55

    Compman55 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is an iexplorer in each program files and program files (x86).

    When I launch them, I cant tell what is the 32 bit and the 64 bit. It doesn't tell me under about in the help menu. I don't know of any other way to tell.
     
  4. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Windows 7, the 64 bit version of IE is located in Program Files, while the 32 bit version is located in Program Files (x86).

    I suspect that this carries over to Win8 as well.
     
  5. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read up a little further on this.

    Apparently, the Metro version if IE10 always runs in 64 bit mode. The desktop version doesn't -- it apparently doesn't matter which location you start the desktop version from -- unless you force it to 64 bit:

    http://www.lockergnome.com/windows/2012/08/25/how-to-make-internet-explorer-10-run-in-64-bit/
     
  6. mechBgon

    mechBgon Super Moderator<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    30,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using EPM also switches on AppContainer in the Desktop version of IE10. Worth noting: if you have 32-bit Windows, you effectively lose both EPM and AppContainer options. That will hold true for Win7 too, once IE10 is available on Win7.

    This is a factor to consider if you're doing an upgrade from a previous Windows to Win8. If you use the $40 downloadable upgrade path, you reportedly cannot switch up to 64-bit if the existing installation is 32-bit. With the packaged upgrade kit, you get both 32 and 64 discs, and can switch up to 64 if you don't mind nuking the existing Windows/programs/settings in the process.

    So I'd say if you're on a 32-bit version of Windows and want to upgrade, it's worth the extra $20ish to get the packaged upgrade, since it means you don't end up with a 4GB RAM ceiling and some of your security options missing.