Windows 7 - no trial / grace period for install?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by VirtualLarry, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,449
    Likes Received:
    910
    I was in the process of installing Windows 7 on my HTPC.

    When I installed it, I told it not to enter a product key at this time.

    I installed the Win7 Cat video/chipset drivers, rebooted, all was well.

    I installed the realtek network card drivers (no need to reboot), then I installed the Realtek HD audio drivers, which prompted for a reboot.

    When it booted back up, I was greeted with a black screen, asking me to activate now.

    I thought Windows 7 gave you a grace/trial period of 30 days to activate?

    Has MS changed this? Did my OS "phone home" once the NIC drivers were installed?

    Seems strange to me, and very suspicious, since Windows 8 just came out.

    Edit: I like to install all of the updates, and get the system just how I want it, before I "burn" a license key to activate Windows.
     
    #1 VirtualLarry, Nov 8, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Windows trial grace Forum Date
    Windows 10 - Trial Version? Operating Systems Sep 17, 2015
    Windows 7 trial version ;( Operating Systems May 7, 2015
    free or trial versions of windows Operating Systems Dec 24, 2013
    Will a Windows 8 trial installation be upgradeable to retail? Operating Systems May 4, 2012
    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition: Drivers, Free Trials, and Availability Operating Systems Apr 25, 2005

  3. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe your time/date got changed?

    Can you wait it out? If so, get an elevated command prompt and type in "slmgr /rearm."
     
  4. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,326
    Likes Received:
    71
    Was this a slip-streamed version with updates? Did it install updates between the network and audio card updates? If so, the windows activation update could be doing something like that.

    Is the time/date on the HTPC correct?
     
  5. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,326
    Likes Received:
    71
    didn't see your post, or I wouldn't have copied what you said. Sorry about that Zap.
     
  6. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,449
    Likes Received:
    910
    That's the first thing I checked. Nope, didn't get changed.
    That's what I was forced to do.
     
  7. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,449
    Likes Received:
    910
    Nope.
    Yes.
     
  8. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,164
    Likes Received:
    29
    Larry, you have some of the damnedest problems with Windows.:p

    Anyhow, nothing has changed with Windows 7 with regards to activation as far as I am aware (keep in mind that the OS itself would need to be changed, this wouldn't be something that could be done server-side). Despite your insistence to the contrary, I think the others are right in that you had a time/date change. Installing the NIC drivers gave you internet access, which in turn allowed your computer to do a clock sync.
     
  9. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,073
    Likes Received:
    45
    Win 7 usualy let you continue to get to the Desktop in some sort of special mode (Aero and themes will not work).

    If it is a legit normal copy of Win 7, issuing from an Admin command.com slmgr /rearm will invoke additional 30 days Normal functioning trial.


    :cool:
     
  10. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,449
    Likes Received:
    910
    Hmm. Well, I don't think so. I read in one of the mobo reviews for my board, that someone ended up with a board with a dead CMOS battery from the factory.

    But when I set this up, I first went into the BIOS and set the correct date/time.

    Then when I was setting up Windows 7, I made sure the date/time was correct.

    I did not power down the rig between installing those drivers.

    However, I did power-down the rig after doing Windows Updates, to put the HTPC into position under my TV on a shelf. Surely, if I did have a bad CMOS battery, it would have lost the date/time, and I would have gotten another black screen when it booted up.
     
  11. bbhaag

    bbhaag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    22
    I had the same thing happen to me last time I installed Win7 on my wifes laptop. If I remember right I did have to reset it a couple times right after the install and then I got the black screen demanding activation.
    I activated it right away so I didn't have to worry about it but I never did figure out why it did that. I'm thinking I updated the display driver and that's what caused it but I'm not sure.